We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Science

Museum of Science
Science Park, Boston, MA 02114
617 723 2500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$54*
and up
Boston CityPass
Ranked #22 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spend a couple of hours or the whole day at this hands-on museum that has something exciting for everyone. Touch a lizard, watch chickens hatching, see lightning being created and enjoy hundreds of other exhibits, where you can't help but learn something new about science and technology. Hold onto the edge of your seat at the IMAX movie theater, which costs extra.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family came to see the Dead Sea Scrolls Exhibit. It was very extensive and displayed very well. I was truly impressed. What an awesome opportunity to see this important history! I will return again for other exhibits.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    322
    134
    49
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Definate Must-see in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of the Best Science museums Ever! To do the entire museum justice, one would have to spend more than 3-4 hours. There are many hands-on exhibits (especially on the upper level by the Electricity show), with docents/volunteers available to explain and instruct. Speaking of the electricity show, it's a Must See. No additional entry for it, and it IS loud. If you watch from the upper levels it's not as loud d/t the plexi. Many of the other exhibits mentioned require an additional entry, so check the website. The choices and quality of the cafeteria food was suprisingly good, and the views of the Charles and downtown- not bad either! Everything (including gift shop) is nicely wheelchair accessible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte. IN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came here to see the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit. It was fantastic! I had no idea that many of the scrolls were nothing more than tiny pieces carefully put together--almost like a jigsaw puzzle. There is so much to see in this exhibit, that even with a lot of people, nothing is crowded. We also saw the IMAX theater presentation of the building of the Canadian Pacific Railroad. We had lunch at the cafeteria, where there were a lot of food choices. We saw some of the other exhibits, but we were tired by that time. This is a place where you can spend the entire day. Lots of hands-on exhibits for the children and the adults. If you are visiting Boston with school age children, this is a great place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Kids really enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

besides that you get the duck tour right out side, the museum was a nice experience for the big and little kids. Lots of hands on stuff to do.
Dead Sea scrolls and the IMAX on Jerusalem (granted they aren;t going to be there for long) very nice shows and presentations

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Boston Museum of Science”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Museum of Science in Boston is AWESOME. I have been enjoying it since the 1970s. There are always has fun things to see and do and any visit is always an educational experience. The IMAX theater is particularly wonderful as is the planetarium. The views from the cafeteria aren't so bad either. I have even spent overnights in the exhibit halls with both the girl scouts and the boy scouts...not much sleep but an experience to remember. Be sure to enjoy the musical staircase on your way up to the special exhibits. A great way to spend time with friends and family. Two thumbs way up!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.