We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Science Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Science

Museum of Science
Science Park, Boston, MA 02114
617 723 2500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Science like an insider
Special Offer
$49*
and up
Boston CityPass
Ranked #22 of 415 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spend a couple of hours or the whole day at this hands-on museum that has something exciting for everyone. Touch a lizard, watch chickens hatching, see lightning being created and enjoy hundreds of other exhibits, where you can't help but learn something new about science and technology. Hold onto the edge of your seat at the IMAX movie theater, which costs extra.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World Class Science Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really awesome exhibits, always fun, great if you are visiting Boston from out-of-town with children. Even without kids, if you like (or want to learn more about) science, this is a must see attraction in Boston.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    346
    137
    52
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Extraordinary for children and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great planetarium and theater as well as hands-on exhibits. Also great for handicapped folks-- they have electric mobility carts for free.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful place for all ages, kids and parents enjoyed equally. Very compact place with lots and lots to see and experience, we spend there almost 6 hours and could go back any day to finish the parts we did not yet get to see.
iMax: Very nice show about orphan animals, very good for kids in 5 and 8 y age
Simulator: Bit overreated, if it were real movie not a cartoon I would be more impressed, good experience anyway
Electricity show: Very cool, my 8 year son was thrilled and kept talking about it for the rest of the night

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to spend the day with kids .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place to spend the day with kids ! We have a membership we go about 10 times a years . Something new all the time . You can have a picnic when you go ,they have tables . That is what we do or you can buy good food from them .They do have good fast food .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Mammoths and Mastadons: Titans of the Ice Age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our family really enjoyed seeing this new exhibit at the Museum of Science the other day. Even my 13 year old was intrigued by the exhibits. Seeing the sheer size of these ancient creatures and actual fossils was very educational. Hands-on exhibits were fun and in good working order. The exhibit is included with regular museum admission and no timed tickets are needed. Always enjoy the musical stairway that leads to the special exhibit hall near the Omni Theatre and Planetarium. We also took the Boston Duck Tours for the first time today. On Veteran's Day, veterans get to ride free and family members could ride for only $10. The tour was great and I learned some things about Boston I did not know, even though I lived in MA for a long time. I would recommend adding this to a day at the Museum, but pick a warm day and look for discounts.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.