We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and creepy oasis in downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granary Burying Ground

Granary Burying Ground
Tremont Street, (between Park and School Sreets), Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-635-7389
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Boston Photography Tour: Freedom Trail
Ranked #36 of 430 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The burial ground for famous American patriots like Paul Revere, John Hancock and Sam Adams, is also the final resting place for Mother Goose.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic and creepy oasis in downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The cemetery is well maintained, but the creepiness is built in. Lots of skulls and skeletons on the gravestones. It was very neat to see Paul Revere's grave--what an honor to see it! Don't know how we missed Mother Goose. We went at around dusk on a very warm evening, which made for a memorable experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    196
    35
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So much history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was struck by the tiny gravestones, most featuring a skull and crossbones. Graves and monuments are here for Paul Revere, Samuel Adams and Ben Franklin's parents, among others. This was a great stop. Also, joke of the day went to our tour guide who said the bar across the street was the only place in the world you could "enjoy a cold Samuel Adams and look at cold Samuel Adams" at the same time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If Jimmy is at the gate borrow the offered guide notes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went here as part of the freedom trail and didn't expect to spend long looking round. At the entrance gate a guy named Jimmy offered us a guide, saying 'just return it when you are finished, donations are appreciated but not expected'. We were a bit reluctant to take it, not knowing what to expect, but we did and what a difference it made, especially as being English our knowledge of the people and their contribution to the Revolution is not deep. Many of the major figures are buried here and there is a great sense of history. Some form of background information is essential to fully appreciate this site.

The trees and grass give a wonderful calm atmosphere despite the crowds.

The guide we borrowed gives you a walk around the graveyard, with photographs, pointing out all the major burials with a good half a page of information on each. Plus there are little snippets on less well known burials. We ended up spending probably 45 minutes going round when we expect to spend 15 minutes. We were so pleased with the guide that when we returned it we gave a small donation of $5 and we were given the website address containing all the material for the guide so that we could refer to it later.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were greeted at the gate by a gentleman who gave us historical information to take into the cemetery. We took the self-guided tour and it was very interesting and informative. The headstones were unique and amazingly in pretty good shape.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Visited on Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was interesting to visit but not just for the graves. The library behind it houses the Scarlet Letter and one of the walls has barbed wire to keep would be robberies out! Fascinating!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granary Burying Ground also viewed

 

Been to Granary Burying Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granary Burying Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.