We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Granary Burial Ground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granary Burying Ground

Granary Burying Ground
Tremont Street, (between Park and School Sreets), Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-635-7389
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Boston Photography Tour: Freedom Trail
Ranked #36 of 430 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The burial ground for famous American patriots like Paul Revere, John Hancock and Sam Adams, is also the final resting place for Mother Goose.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Granary Burial Ground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is amazing with the grave sites of historical people such as Thomas Jefferson. Grave rubbers enjoy obtaining rubbings of the art work on several gravestones. The cemetary has frequent tours and it's share of supernatural stories passed on through the years.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    196
    35
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
306 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“The Dead Still Whisper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It may make me a weirdo, but I love cemeteries. And with a graveyard with this much history, it is a wonder to explore!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really cool, gives you a great sense of early American history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The first thing that struck me was the number of ornate and intact headstones that date well back into the 1600's. Many of these works of art bear striking symbolic designs in high relief, and one could easily snap hundreds of pictures here collecting enough unique pictures to fill a book.

Lots of famous names here including Franklin, Faneuil, Revere, and Hancock. Also, there was a guy at the entrance handing out free guides to use which was helpful in navigating the yard.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place of discovery and reflection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lots of historical figures buried here. Mary "Mother" Goose, Samuel Adams, and the victims of the Boston Massacre to name a few.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Love the History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I love the History go and visit the final resting places of some of America's heros! make sure to see Sam Adams, Ben Franklin and Paul Rever! I also love the old stones, the art on them is very interesting great place to take photos and feel in touch with the founding of our great country

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granary Burying Ground also viewed

 

Been to Granary Burying Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granary Burying Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.