We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old North Church

Old North Church
193 Salem St., Boston, MA 02113 (North End)
617-523-6676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Boston Super Saver: Cambridge, Lexington and...
Ranked #12 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The signal from the steeple of Boston's oldest church triggered the War for Independence that led to the birth of America. On that fateful night in 1775, the two lanterns in the steeple told Paul Revere that the British were approaching by boat, not on foot.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Really interesting American history just like it was in 1775. Worth the visit. Revolutionary War experience and to think it's still an active church.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    340
    55
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Steeped In History and Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As we were in Boston for 7 weeks for medical reasons, we went there to worship on a Sunday morning and ended up going back every Sunday that we were able until we left Boston. As an attraction, there are tours between the church services where much of the history is explained. Amazing amount of significance to this place in the formation of our country as well as giving visitors a glimpse into the ways of the past. We also found the congregation and pastoral staff to be warm and welcoming to us visitors. Lemonade and cookies following the service in the side yard, which also features the George Washington Memorial Garden. Next door is the gift shop and I must say that I found it to be the nicest gift shop I was in the entire time we were in Boston. And the prices were the best too. Let's just say I was a good customer. I love this place! Necessary part of the North End experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A ton of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just a short walk from Paul Revere's house this church is filled with history and is beautiful. Be sure to take the time to read the signs around the church which explain its role in US history. The church is in great condition for being so old. There is a beautiful garden area right outside the church (along the side) with a tribute to those military personnel that lost their lives in the Iraq & Afghanistan wars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I thought this was a great sight because of the importance it played during the revolution. I love old churches and it was neat to see where people had purchased box seats at church. I got a kick out of that.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much history!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved sitting in the pew boxes listening to a guide who was full of great information! He hung around after he gave his "speech" to answer any and all questions! This is a definite must see!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old North Church also viewed

 

Been to Old North Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old North Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.