We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Way to Get in the Christmas Spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boston Pops

The Boston Pops
301 Massachusetts Ave., Symphony Hall, Boston, MA 02115 (Fenway / Kenmore)
617-266-1492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 420 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conductor Keith Lockhart leads the orchestra at Symphony Hall and on the Charles River Esplanade.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Way to Get in the Christmas Spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My family and I go to the Boston Pops every few years, and every time we do, we wonder why we don't do it every single year. The Boston Pops are absolutely THE BEST, especially when it comes to their Christmas Show. I remember going with my own family over 40 years ago. It was great then, and it is still great. The music is an awesome mix of songs you know (LOVE the traditional sing-along!) as well as beautiful classical pieces. There is a lot of humor mixed in, which totally adds to the charm of what could otherwise be a "stuffy" event. Keith Lockhard is so engaging and talented and witty and just plain enjoyable to watch. We did all agree that we will be going again next year. There is simply no other way to get into the Christmas Spirit.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    43
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover,Va.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boston Pops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Attended the Christmas show on December 12th. My first time in Symphony Hall. As one might expect, the music was outstanding!! Well worth the price of admission ( $40 each ). I have been listening to the Pops for 30 years or so and the Pops orchestra was a treat, as usual.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“POP 2015”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

It has been a very long time since we went to the Pops for New Years Eve. We want back this year and the Orchestra did not disappoint. People were dancing in the aisles and in the balcony where we were. We had a wonderful time.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Did not think that this would be so great. Was I wrong. Armed with sheets We were given at motel to lay on the ground we camped out early. We didn't pay to get in the concert area but they set up speakers all up and down the river so you can hear perfect. Fireworks after the concert capped the night. It was great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“You either love em or you don't.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We have been to more Pops concerts then I can remember. The music they play is absolutely beautiful. I can't think of a better night out in Boston then sitting in Symphony Hall for a couple hours and listening to the Pops.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boston Pops also viewed

 

Been to The Boston Pops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boston Pops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.