We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ironsides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USS Constitution Museum

USS Constitution Museum
Bldg 22 Charlestown Navy Yard, Charlestown, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)
617-426-1812
Website
Improve this listing
Visit USS Constitution Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Boston USS Constitution Cruise
Ranked #21 of 420 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the USS Constitution Museum you don't just learn about history, you EXPERIENCE it! Furl a a sail, fire a cannon, and scrub the decks to learn what life was like at sea over 200 years ago. Stop in the NEW "Old Ironsides Discovery Center" to learn the causes and consequences of the War of 1812 and how the ship earned her famous nickname "Old Ironsides." Fun for all ages, admission is simply by donation! Located across from the ship in the historic Boston National Park, Charlestown Navy Yard. Open Daily. The Museum is private non-profit Museum.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Great Neck, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old Ironsides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The old ship (I must remember not to call it a boat!) has been restored to it's original glory. The location is spectacular with great views of the city. It is well worth a visit if you are in Boston.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    531
    145
    26
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss this piece of history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were in Boston late January, very cold but the sun was out. This is a piece of history you do not want to miss. The USS Constitution is ran by the Navy, so before touring the ship, you must show your ID, and go through a security check, (items on a belt, walk through a detector), like at the airport - but well worth it to visit this magnificent piece of history. I could not imagine traveling on the sea in a wooden ship, let alone into battle. Even though it was a self-guided tour, we chatted with one of the Navy personnel on board who gave us a little more information on the ship and their different events involving the ship. There were 500 men at a time on the ship - while 250 men manned the upper deck and the sails, 250 were sleeping below - would like to go back in the summer and take the guided tour. Only a short walking distance away, is the Bunker Hill Monument, also well worth the walk, just follow the Freedom Trail.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Magic of Old Ironsides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a magical and inspiring place for anyone who cares about U.S. history and loves the beauty of sailing ships. The ship seems to be a living thing, telling stories about the people who sailed her.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A lot of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The USS Constitution is a great place for history buffs to visit, but small children will also enjoy exploring the ship. Every Fourth of July, the ship takes a small journey to celebrate its (and the nation's) history. If you are taking the trolley tour, this is one of the stops.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hu10 6as
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“good trip for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we went by the trolly bus made a special trip what we were not told that as british we needed our id ie passport etc, we had to make the trip back to our hotel to get id ,our visit was good apart from the visit to the constitution we could not visit the sleeping quarters . the museum was very good great for the kids well worth a visit but take your id and expect security .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Constitution Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Constitution Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Constitution Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.