We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice exhibits and architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Public Library

Boston Public Library
700 Boylston St., At Copley Sq., Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
617-536-5400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Boston Public Library like an insider
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Boston Photography Tour: Boston Back Bay
Ranked #8 of 420 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On the National Register of Historic Places, the library opened in 1852 as the first free, publicly-supported municipal library in America.
Singapore
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice exhibits and architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you have a moment to visit, step into the north end of the library and proceed up the marble steps to some of the viewing rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor. I enjoy some of the ceiling frescos and architecture, and occasionally some nice exhibits on display. The south end of the library is connected and that area is very uninteresting architecturally, but busy with a lot of people reading books.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    376
    38
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nooo, i did not get to the library until my last day in Boston with only an hour to spare. Learn from my mistake and give yourself at least two hours to enjoy this beautiful building (architecture, art, books)

The pink marble Vestibule was breathtaking, the courtyard a tranquil haven, and the ladies room was very clean.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This library is absolutely gorgeous. Even if you're not fond of reading I would take a look at it anyway!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A grand old library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A visit to the BPL will make you want to curl up with a book. The old building, the one facing Copley Square, is one of Boston's architectural grandes dammes. It's worth popping in and wandering about a bit. Don't miss the main reading room on the second floor. The Leventhal Map room often has interesting map exhibits, and the central courtyard features a coffee shop and a quiet oasis in the middle of one of the busiest parts of Boston.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quintessential Boston spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Not only is the library itself great, it's beautiful. Every time we have family or friends in town, we take them to the Boston Public Library. I encourage you to venture up to the third floor, where there are even more beautiful murals.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Public Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.