We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Common

Boston Common
Boston, MA 02108 (Downtown)
617-635 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #18 of 210 attractions in Boston
Type: Parks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, People-watching, Walking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether it's a summer picnic in the grass or winter ice-skating on Frog Pond, Boston's oldest public park is the perfect escape from the bustle of the city.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Such a beautiful park, and a lot to see and do there. We spent a quiet time watching people and drinking a iced coffee. Way more then just grass and trees.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    583
    138
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A green oasis in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Boston has been my favourite place to visit so far in the USA.
I enjoyed the tranquility of the common and its numerous monuments despite being right in the centre of Town. A nice place to relax for visitors and natives alike.
A must see for anyone visitng Boston.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scenic & Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A great place to go in the city to enjoy scenery and nature. A nice break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Tons of trees and different types of plants, great for pictures.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Snowy Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Twice we have been to Boston in winter, the common is covered in snow, the pond is frozen over and people always walking around over it.
From the squirrels running around, to the dogs playing in the snow, we always find ourselves here walking through the common from each side of the city loving what we see.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My 9 year old child and I enjoyed our visit even on a cold February afternoon. He ran the whole time, only slowing down to enjoy watching all the people to ice skate. Very long line to skate so we instead we enjoyed the great playground. A Dunkin Donuts across the street was very welcome as well (for this DD lover).

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Common also viewed

 

Been to Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boston Common to your Saves list