We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walking area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Common

Boston Common
Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-635 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Boston Common like an insider
Special Offer
$67*
and up
Boston Super Saver: Cambridge, Lexington and...
Ranked #17 of 420 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, People-watching, Walking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether it's a summer picnic in the grass or winter ice-skating on Frog Pond, Boston's oldest public park is the perfect escape from the bustle of the city.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice walking area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It is always good to get to the common and walk around/take in the views and people watch.park street or boylston t-stop gets you right in the action.
It is pretty big and nice to wallk around or thru with places to eat/shop all around you. Check it out while in boston for sure....also short walk to quincy market or downtown crossing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    831
    195
    29
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful @ Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We visited a few times during our stay but a visit night time when the Xmas lights are on is the best choice if limited with time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wonderful place to walk around and absorb all the history. Found many wonderful restaurants neareby and were able to sit out in front and watch all the Bostonians rushing by. Had to visit Boylston Street and say a prayers for those who were killed and maimed there just a few months before.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boston Common”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Autumn foliage? Beautiful weather? Abundance of cheeky squirrels? Whatever it is, Boston Common is right up there on my list of favourite parks alongside Central Park in New York and Stanley Park in Vancouver.

We decided to visit it while making our way to the famed Berklee College of Music. We started from the Financial District making our way through the Common. Mind you, we passed through the same day as the Red Sox's World Series celebratory parade so the Common was just that much more colourful!

It's an easy walk and you'll encounter plenty of cheeky squirrels who'll come up to you while you're taking photos of them. You can continue through the public gardens (which I also loved!) before making your way toward Boylston St. On Boylston St, you'll pass Copley Square, the library and there are plenty of restaurants located on this street. If you're after a round of shopping, The Shops at Prudential Centre is also on this street.

So there is plenty to do in that area and I recommend the Common as one of the 'must sees'!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The heart of Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Boston Common is an ancient public park that lies in Boston's heart. It is large, walkable and resplendent with mini-gardens, statues, ponds and magnificent trees. It dates back to revolutionary times and served multiple purposes over 100s of years. Don't miss this essential spot if you're visiting. A good place to relax, rest or take an invigorating stroll.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Common also viewed

 

Been to Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.