We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for people-watching - a little trashed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Common

Boston Common
Boston, MA 02108 (Downtown)
617-635 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #18 of 210 attractions in Boston
Type: Parks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, People-watching, Walking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether it's a summer picnic in the grass or winter ice-skating on Frog Pond, Boston's oldest public park is the perfect escape from the bustle of the city.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good for people-watching - a little trashed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were on a Canada/New England cruise r/t from New York. We briefly drove through Central Park in NYC, visited the park in Halifax Nova Scotia (Which was beautiful), we were a little disappointed in Boston Common. Smaller than expected and trashed compared to Halifax, although with the Boston population I guess that is to be expected.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    583
    138
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A really lovely park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

-Lovely beautiful historic park with fountains,flowers, statues.
-Unfortunately there are quite a few homeless people sleeping on the grass and benches nearer the south east end by Boylston Station, but they don't bother you, it's just a bit sad.
-At night it was a little intimidating but then I think we were quite warey because we were two young girls.
-Walking north up the park you come across cheers and if you walk a little further a lovely little italy type area with shops, boutiques and amazing food!
-See a few bits from the freedom trail in the park too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a stroll”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Common has a fascinating history, which is worth reading about and it is definitely a place any visitor should stroll through. However, the Public Garden (right across Charles Street) is a MUCH more beautiful park and should be on every visitor's list.

The northeast corner, near Park Street, is a bit more urban, with the subway plaza and a number of homeless people and pigeons. However, there is also a beautiful antique fountain in this area as well. Strolling through the southern areas of the Common is a little more pleasant and there is even a cemetery located here.

At Christmas time there are lights on the trees around the edges of the Common, but it is somewhat tacky. A much better alternative would be to head to the Commonwealth Avenue Mall (just on the other side of the Public Garden) where the tree trunks are all it up in white lights during December.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Calming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great area for walking on a crisp fall day, peaceful .They were filming a movie in the park the day we were there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“The Common”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were there on a lovely, sunny day and got to enjoy a relaxing walk along the paths, past the lake. This is a wonderful place to relax and take a stroll after lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Common also viewed

 

Been to Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boston Common to your Saves list