We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Common

Boston Common
Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-635 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Boston Common like an insider
Special Offer
$67*
and up
Boston Super Saver: Cambridge, Lexington and...
Ranked #17 of 420 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, People-watching, Walking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether it's a summer picnic in the grass or winter ice-skating on Frog Pond, Boston's oldest public park is the perfect escape from the bustle of the city.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Loved being in the common, great place to be in the August sunshine and relax and people watch. Oh and of course there is the free wifi which was surprisingly good enough to FaceTime the family back home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    828
    193
    29
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun way to have a romantic afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A stroll around The Boston Common was just the ticket for my new husband and I. We walked over from the Theater District and found ourselves in the lovely and serene surroundings of the Common. We found a tree shored up with bricks to keep the sap from flowing, and a pond and fountain for children to play in. A man playing a shamisen sent us towards the Swan Boats on a cloud of ethereal music. Lovely and clean, the Common is a must see for couples, families and even businessmen needing some down time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We've seen many unique historic sites on Freedom Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've seen many unique historic sites on Freedom Trail. It is well marked and if you get a map you can do it yourself. Guides dressed as historic characters provide valuable information during the tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place for Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lush Gardens, Full Grown Trees, Families Playing, People Jogging... You are immediately at peace as soon as you step into this beautiful park. With a cool splash zone, and the start of the freedom trail this is a place that can be enjoyed over and over again by locals and tourists alike.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Frog Pond and the Adorable Bronze Frog Statues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we just happened upon the frog pond in Boston Common. Nothing special necessarily about the pond but instead we fell in love with the life sized bronze frog statues at the end. I believe their names were "Tommy" and "Angela". It was a great whimsical discovery. There were other bronze frogs in the play land/splash pad that we didn't go in to see but noticed thru the fence.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Common also viewed

 

Been to Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.