We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to see this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New England Holocaust Memorial

New England Holocaust Memorial
Between Congress and Union Streets, Boston, MA 02109 (Downtown)
617-635-4505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The six glass towers of this striking memorial serve to represent the six million Jews who perished in the Holocaust, six main Nazi death camps and the candles on a menorah.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You have to see this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We vacation in Boston almost every year and each and everytime we stop by and pay our respects. This is truly a very moving memorial and should be seen by everyone. I don't care how many times I see it, the memorial is really something to be seen. Take a moment out of your vacation and see the Memorial while you might think it would not be something you would want to do, I think you will be glad you did.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    193
    44
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very sobering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

this is a simple memorial but sometimes these are the best. the naming of the concentration camps and the quotes inscribed in the memorial really make you stop and think

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pay Respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Walk through in silence and see all the numbers etched into the glass. They represent murdered Jews. May this never ever happen again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tasteful and impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I had been following the Freedom Trail when I spotted this monument and out of curiosity went to view it. The Holocaust memorial is well worth the time for a period of contemplation. The six glass towers each etched with the numbers of the victims of these terrible sites and the statements from survivors really bring home the enormity of the situation. It was a cold day when I visited the memorial and the rising mist from each tower made it more poignant. A must see if you are on the trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Be prepared to be moved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Bring your kleenex, you'll need them. A warm, sunny day makes it easier to spend the time needed to fully appreciate the impact. Near City Hall and other sites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New England Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New England Holocaust Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.