We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powerful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New England Holocaust Memorial

New England Holocaust Memorial
Between Congress and Union Streets, Boston, MA 02109 (Downtown)
617-635-4505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 193 Attractions in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Monuments & statues, History museums, Museums, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The six glass towers of this striking memorial serve to represent the six million Jews who perished in the Holocaust, six main Nazi death camps and the candles on a menorah.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Powerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This wasn't something we planned to see & it isn't to be missed. The quotes are powerful & the numbers of people involved is staggering. We went after lunch & was a sobering experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    200
    45
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and heartbreaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Something every person should visit. It was overwhelming, really. The design is genius - one of the most moving memorials I have ever visited.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So touching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I brought my 3 daughters to see the holocaust memorial this weekend, before their shopping adventure. They were reluctant at first but afterwards understood why I insisted they came to see the memorial with me. It is touching by its simplicity and overwhelming with the numbers engraved in the glass towers. Very much worth it! It is part of history which deserves reflexion!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Time for sobering thoughts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We liked the unique design of the memorial and its convenient location. A lot of thought had gone into the design to preserve the memory of those to be remembered..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“sobering memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This outdoor memorial is very impressive. It has all of the numbers of the holocaust victims engraved, and is done in a way that very much gets across the gravity of the holocaust.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New England Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New England Holocaust Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.