We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Trail

Freedom Trail
Boston, MA 02109
617-357-8300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$53*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #6 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Trails, Outdoors
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The red line on the sidewalk leads you on this 2.5-mile, self-guided tour of Revolutionary sites, which starts at the Boston Common, America's oldest public park, and ends up at the famed Bunker Hill Monument.
houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Walking the freedom train is a must when visiting Boston. You
can also take open air buses with on/off stops. The stops are
interesting. It is especially helpful to purchase a freedom trail
booklet available at tourist information houses. It add a greater
depth to the sights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,506
    1,365
    231
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Easy to follow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Starting on Boylston outside the gardens, it is easy to follow and so interesting. It can get a bit busy at the weekends. We went on across the bridge to see Bunker Hill and the USS Constitution. Tours of the ship are free!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quick way to see all the hot spots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed walking this "trail", but we felt it would have been better had we stopped and toured each location. Unfortunately, there's a fee to enter many of the sights and would take too much time for being in Boston one day. However, each stop has a little information about it, so we had a basic understanding of what makes each stop important. If we had more time we would pay to get into a couple of the major sights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Must do in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very cool way to see the city and refresh your US history. The red brick and paint makes it easy to follow, but getting the free phone app is helpful too. It's possible to do in one day, but you will be tired at the end of it... ~7 hours of walking and subway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

If you ever wanted a crash course on the American history, the freedom walk is your answer. The trail is easy to follow and captivating. You will be amazed at what you discover without much effort. I did the walk solo and was not bored at all as I always looked forward to the next point of interest. I was sad at the last one

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Freedom Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.