We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel along the road to the birth of America.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Trail

Freedom Trail
Boston, MA 02109
617-357-8300
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 213 Attractions in Boston
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Trails
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The red line on the sidewalk leads you on this 2.5-mile, self-guided tour of Revolutionary sites, which starts at the Boston Common, America's oldest public park, and ends up at the famed Bunker Hill Monument.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Travel along the road to the birth of America.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a great trip along the historical route of the British army and the the Revolutionary forces. Fascinating to see the places and hear the names of those involved in this significant era in US history. .

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,135
    1,200
    212
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice way to get a lay of the land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a 2.5 mile trail that takes you past some of the most historic buildings and sites in Boston. It's an easy walk. There are sites you can down load maps and info.

Tip: from Faneuil Hall there are free National Park Service tours of the south portion of the Trail, and also free Park Service tours of the Bunker Hill area that leave from the Constitution. Definitely a nice way to learn a little more about the places you are seeing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gotta walk it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is it. Where it all began. Follow the walking trail or take a tour. Lots of stops, great restaurants, shopping, sights to see!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge U.K.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Do the Freedom Trail backwards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Take the trail in the opposite direction from the rest of the visitors! Take the ferry from Aquarium across the harbour to the USS Constitution and visit the museums and the ship. Then visit Bunker Hill and climb the monument while you are still fresh. Then do the rest of the trail.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must do experience in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Freedom Trail is not for the faint of heart ! ... if you're doing it by foot that is. My boyfriend and I stayed in Boston for Thanksgiving weekend and decided to do the Freedom Tour on Thanksgiving Day. We were lucky with beautiful weather and started in the morning about 10am. We decided to do the trail ourselves walking and altogether walked about 6 miles or so (did the whole trail back as well, we love to walk!) and loved every minute of it. It was so fascinating to see the history of our country and where history was made. Some of our favorites were the old cemeteries, and the spot of the Boston Massacre and first reading of the Declaration of Independece, and the USS Constitution. All of the spots were special in their own way - it was a little sad to see that the old corner bookstore is now a Chipotle, I have a feeling it would have been very charming if it were still original. It was also really interesting to see all of the different parts of the city (Little Italy, etc.) each part has a different vibe of its own. If you are planning to do a lot of walking then wear comfy shoes ! It's definitely doable to walk the whole city but just leave yourself several hours to really do some exploring. Highly recommend this if you are visiting Boston, it's a great way to connect with our heritage and ancestors and really feel a great sense of pride and patriotism to our country, it made us proud to be Americans !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freedom Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.