We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few Realize The Significance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Island

George's Island
Boston Harbor, Boston, MA
617-727-7676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
Boston Historic Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #50 of 284 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Picnicking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest of the Boston Harbor Islands is a great spot for hiking and exploring.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Few Realize The Significance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hard to get to but rich with history and hauntings. You're really into history to make this pilgrimage. The fort was a prison in the Civil War an POW camp during WW2. Yes America! We did bring Italian POW's to Boston.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great take”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm a Bostonian, grew up going to George's Island. I love it and recommend it to my out-of-town friends visitng during summer months. Why? Well, there's a boat ride involved. Not an hours-long whale watch, but enough of a ride to see the Harbor and, more importantly, see the view of the City from the Harbor. For kids, there are lots of exciting places to explore and fields for picnics and frisbee games. For adults, there's the history of the island, the ecology, and the larger history of the Harbor itself. The ferry is not that expensive. Pack a picnic lunch as the food choices on the island are limited. You'll also need good weather and sunscreen. This is a seasonal activity.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...Bring a flashlight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Don't miss the harbor islands, especially if you are avisitor to Boston. This island has an awesome old granite fort (Fort Warren) which was built in the 1800s. You can access almost the whole complex inside and out. It's full of hidden passages, dark staircases, underground barracks with gun ports that open to ocean views. From the top WWII era observation towers there is a panoramic view of the adjacent islands and the harbor. Bring a flashlight and explore! We live in the area and spend a lot of time on the water. This is where we bring out of town guests to see a part of historic Boston that many people miss. Access is easy with the Boston Harbor ferry system from downtown and umass... check the schedule boats run all day most days in the summer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
339 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A quiet spot in the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A short 40 minute boat ride from the central harbor, Georges Island is a gem of the city. An inexpensive ride, no park fee, great picnic area with a view from the top of the fort of the entire harbor. Not too much to see, but a great place to relax. Well worth a day visit. There are free shuttles to other harbor islands if you want, but some don't have any facilities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“neat, historical place with a lot of freedom to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The ferry boat ride is fun enough, and inexpensive. When you get the the island, you can picnic outside at the tables and look at the ocean. Then you can go exploring throughout the fort which can actually be kind of dangerous and scary, which is really exciting to me. Some of the rooms are massive and pitch black, so be careful! the floor/ground can be inconsistent or slippering or missing. Lots of stairs so those who are not in reasonably decent shape will be limited in what they can do. I'm not in great shape but i managed fine. The sea wall is cool but its dangerous for those who aren't sure footed. I'm not even sure if you're allowed to go out there (we climbed out a fort window) so be careful. Also, avoid sitting on the grass outside of the courtyard, there's goose turds everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.