We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's Island

George's Island
Boston Harbor, Boston, MA (South Boston)
617-727-7676
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #23 of 218 Attractions in Boston
Type: Islands, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Picnicking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The largest of the Boston Harbor Islands is a great spot for hiking and exploring.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great take”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm a Bostonian, grew up going to George's Island. I love it and recommend it to my out-of-town friends visitng during summer months. Why? Well, there's a boat ride involved. Not an hours-long whale watch, but enough of a ride to see the Harbor and, more importantly, see the view of the City from the Harbor. For kids, there are lots of exciting places to explore and fields for picnics and frisbee games. For adults, there's the history of the island, the ecology, and the larger history of the Harbor itself. The ferry is not that expensive. Pack a picnic lunch as the food choices on the island are limited. You'll also need good weather and sunscreen. This is a seasonal activity.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...Bring a flashlight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Don't miss the harbor islands, especially if you are avisitor to Boston. This island has an awesome old granite fort (Fort Warren) which was built in the 1800s. You can access almost the whole complex inside and out. It's full of hidden passages, dark staircases, underground barracks with gun ports that open to ocean views. From the top WWII era observation towers there is a panoramic view of the adjacent islands and the harbor. Bring a flashlight and explore! We live in the area and spend a lot of time on the water. This is where we bring out of town guests to see a part of historic Boston that many people miss. Access is easy with the Boston Harbor ferry system from downtown and umass... check the schedule boats run all day most days in the summer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A quiet spot in the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A short 40 minute boat ride from the central harbor, Georges Island is a gem of the city. An inexpensive ride, no park fee, great picnic area with a view from the top of the fort of the entire harbor. Not too much to see, but a great place to relax. Well worth a day visit. There are free shuttles to other harbor islands if you want, but some don't have any facilities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“neat, historical place with a lot of freedom to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The ferry boat ride is fun enough, and inexpensive. When you get the the island, you can picnic outside at the tables and look at the ocean. Then you can go exploring throughout the fort which can actually be kind of dangerous and scary, which is really exciting to me. Some of the rooms are massive and pitch black, so be careful! the floor/ground can be inconsistent or slippering or missing. Lots of stairs so those who are not in reasonably decent shape will be limited in what they can do. I'm not in great shape but i managed fine. The sea wall is cool but its dangerous for those who aren't sure footed. I'm not even sure if you're allowed to go out there (we climbed out a fort window) so be careful. Also, avoid sitting on the grass outside of the courtyard, there's goose turds everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
“A very unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having grown up in the Boston area, when I returned with a friend from Upstate NY, I wanted to show her a unique perspective of the city. We were lucky enough to get a trip out to George's, where she could indulge in a historical visit through the old fort and I could hike around the island and enjoy the water's edge on a blistering hot day. The ferry ride allows you to see a part of Boston that many of the "locals" aren't even aware of - and being on the water on a hot day: priceless! The ferry leaves from the wharf, where a block walk brings you to Quincy Market, the T, a ferry even leaves for Logan (what a layover respite!!) - and there's great open air pub style restaurants to enjoy a refreshing beverage. All without the car, which I left in the ferry parking lot in Quincy for $8 overnight. Bargain!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.