We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Public Garden

Boston Public Garden
69 Beacon St., Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-723-8144
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 212 Attractions in Boston
Type: Parks, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Frederick Law Olmsted-designed park, famous for its Swan Boats, has over 600 varieties of trees and an ever-changing array of flowers. It is America's first public garden.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clean, not too big, not too small. We always walk there at least once when we go to Boston. Lovely and safe to stroll there at night too. A must.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,638
    618
    61
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simple Garden with Pond”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

There were some cool trees, but I would have enjoyed more flower plantings, which were fairly sparse for a public garden imho.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STANFORD, KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I could spend all day here. The pond is just gorgeous and the trees surrounding it are amazing. The little duck sculptures are too cute. Impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and shady break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Walked thru this park a couple of times during our week long Boston stay - a shady retreat from the hot sun and very clean with lots of benches. Felt very safe. Just sat and rested - did not do the swan boat ride but others seemed to enjoy it. Very nice, shady and cool break to our nonstop city-touring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Watch the World Go By”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in Boston for a week at the end of May and during this time the city experienced a heat-wave, so it was nice to spend some time in the gardens. It was great to people watch and there are lots of things to do and see (the boats on the lake, the ducks etc). The gardens are well maintained and seem really clean, definitely worth passing a few hours of the day in the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Garden also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Public Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.