We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Public Garden

Boston Public Garden
69 Beacon St., Boston, MA 02108 (Downtown)
617-723-8144
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$75*
and up
Fall Foliage Bike Ride in Boston
Ranked #4 of 311 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Frederick Law Olmsted-designed park, famous for its Swan Boats, has over 600 varieties of trees and an ever-changing array of flowers. It is America's first public garden.
STANFORD, KY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I could spend all day here. The pond is just gorgeous and the trees surrounding it are amazing. The little duck sculptures are too cute. Impressive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IAMRADTECH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and shady break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Walked thru this park a couple of times during our week long Boston stay - a shady retreat from the hot sun and very clean with lots of benches. Felt very safe. Just sat and rested - did not do the swan boat ride but others seemed to enjoy it. Very nice, shady and cool break to our nonstop city-touring.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momof1inMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Watch the World Go By”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in Boston for a week at the end of May and during this time the city experienced a heat-wave, so it was nice to spend some time in the gardens. It was great to people watch and there are lots of things to do and see (the boats on the lake, the ducks etc). The gardens are well maintained and seem really clean, definitely worth passing a few hours of the day in the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Camper182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very pretty, but not sure if the swan boats looked to be worth the cost/wait - didn't look like anything special

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TorontoON88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 6 days in Boston and each day went to the public
gardens (even in the rain). The gardens are beautiful and peaceful. The citizens seem to really enjoy the park. We even
took a swan boat trip which I highly recomment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stanleycamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Garden also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing