We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.. I can only imagine in summertime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Public Garden

Boston Public Garden
69 Beacon St., Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-723-8144
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #6 of 209 attractions in Boston
Type: Parks, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Frederick Law Olmsted-designed park, famous for its Swan Boats, has over 600 varieties of trees and an ever-changing array of flowers. It is America's first public garden.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful.. I can only imagine in summertime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a weekend getaway to Boston and I definitely have Boston down as my all-time favorite city. We went the the weekend of Jan 25th and the public garden was absolutely beautiful. Its was 15 degrees out and the park was still vibrant with life. Families, runners, people with dogs, and just travelers like my husband and myself soaking up the scenery. I would definitely go back on my next trip to Boston!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,517
    567
    55
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good for a stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Boston Public Garden is accessible from the T and is a great place to get some fresh air. There are plenty of paths to walk on, "swan boats" to paddle in, or cute statues to look at. Even better- it's free!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Visit the garden often!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I live one hour outside Boston, so I head into the city at least 5 times a year to just walk around and the garden is definitely a favorite spot. The giant weeping willow trees are my favorite and make for beautiful scenery in front of the pond and bridge. On summer weekends, I always see bridal parties taking pictures here. And right in the center of the city, it's so easy to get to, you really can't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent daytime stroll”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This public park is much nicer and better to view than Boston Common, but still fairly average for a park. In the summer, the pond has swan boats you can rent and paddle around, and the flowers are usually pretty. The water fountains are empty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quack Quack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Make way for me. I am checking out the ducklings again. It's great to just relax is America's oldest public park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Garden also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Public Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boston Public Garden to your Saves list