We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.. I can only imagine in summertime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Public Garden

Boston Public Garden
69 Beacon St., Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-723-8144
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Boston TV and Movie Sites Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 284 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Frederick Law Olmsted-designed park, famous for its Swan Boats, has over 600 varieties of trees and an ever-changing array of flowers. It is America's first public garden.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful.. I can only imagine in summertime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a weekend getaway to Boston and I definitely have Boston down as my all-time favorite city. We went the the weekend of Jan 25th and the public garden was absolutely beautiful. Its was 15 degrees out and the park was still vibrant with life. Families, runners, people with dogs, and just travelers like my husband and myself soaking up the scenery. I would definitely go back on my next trip to Boston!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,588
    981
    123
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
233 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good for a stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Boston Public Garden is accessible from the T and is a great place to get some fresh air. There are plenty of paths to walk on, "swan boats" to paddle in, or cute statues to look at. Even better- it's free!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Visit the garden often!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I live one hour outside Boston, so I head into the city at least 5 times a year to just walk around and the garden is definitely a favorite spot. The giant weeping willow trees are my favorite and make for beautiful scenery in front of the pond and bridge. On summer weekends, I always see bridal parties taking pictures here. And right in the center of the city, it's so easy to get to, you really can't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent daytime stroll”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This public park is much nicer and better to view than Boston Common, but still fairly average for a park. In the summer, the pond has swan boats you can rent and paddle around, and the flowers are usually pretty. The water fountains are empty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quack Quack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Make way for me. I am checking out the ducklings again. It's great to just relax is America's oldest public park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Garden also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Public Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.