We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Public Garden

Boston Public Garden
69 Beacon St., Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-723-8144
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Boston Public Garden like an insider
$25*
and up
Ranked #5 of 420 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Frederick Law Olmsted-designed park, famous for its Swan Boats, has over 600 varieties of trees and an ever-changing array of flowers. It is America's first public garden.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful little garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I enjoyed wandering around here - close to the major attractions and easily accessible from Park St T stop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,074
    777
    87
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for relaxing and people-watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A lovely park in the heart of the city which was busy with both tourists and locals? We were fortunate enough to enjoy great weather whilst we were there which helped.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Swan lake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The garden is a lovely, open green space in the heart of the city. In the summer you can hire a boat (in the shape of a swan) and peddle about the lake. Its charming and well worth exploring.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the fall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit to Boston and we were taking in the sights on a single day. We took most of our pictures at Boston common and Boston Public Garden. We loved it! If you like nature, this is a must see! How cool to be in a park that has been around since the 1830s!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“live her and still takes my breathe away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

stunning- stunning- very clean park and host to 50 different species of trees representing the 50 states- boston common is across the street but very dirty in comparison - its like walking in oprahs back yard at the public garden-visit

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Garden also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Public Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.