We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got a refund on the ticket price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Children's Museum

Boston Children's Museum
308 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
617-426-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$53*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #29 of 194 Attractions in Boston
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights of this interactive museum include the "Science Playground," featuring giant soap bubble-making tools and the "New Balance Climb," which teaches kids the laws of physics while navigating through a two-story-high maze.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I got a refund on the ticket price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've visited a number of children's museums with and without my son, and I've worked at museums. This was chaotic, ill-planned, dated . . . we were completely disappointed. Kids running wild without staff to manage the craziness. Exhibits should have been more tailored to certain ages. Just not a good visit. Would not recommend this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    115
    33
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience for mixed ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The museum spanned age groups from 0 to about 10 years old. We brought our 4-year and 10-month and they had a great time. Lunch time is a little crazy, but it worked out with the Au Bon Pain next door and open lunch space if you bring your own. You can only spend 3-4 hours there, so the price is a little high for $14 per person. We waited outside in line for ~30 minutes, so advance ticket purchase would be a great addition. We were kind of bummed that the bubble room was closed for renovation, but our 4-year old loved the Construction Zone (3rd floor).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow! So many engaging exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We seem to find something new everytime we visit this museum. The baby section is terrific. This time we particularly enjoyed exploring the Japanese House and Circle Exhibit on the third floor. They were a little less crowded and really interesting, fun and educational for both our 5 year old and 1 1/2 year old.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Truly a Children's Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My 6 yr old learned a lot from the various areas of the museum and slept tightly that evening. He was exhausted from all the games and exploratory activities from the museum. My only concern was the Japanese section. It smelled funky from the outside and we decided to skip it. Otherwise it was a trip worth visiting occasionally.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A very nice place for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our visit and spent approximately 5 hours there. This museum is a reciprocal member of ACM, if you have a membership you can visit here for 1/2 the price if you have a membership at a participating museum. We were pleased with the parking arrangements at Atlantic parking on Congress St. There is an Au Bon Pain attached to the museum with ample eating area and good food for your child.

The museum has some very good attractions that are educational in nature. In some ways, it was more interactive than I have seen in other children's museums (good books to read in the classroom, tools to use in the construction area, etc...).

A must see is the Japanese House that is part of the museum, it is quite unique and interesting to explore.

I give four stars out of five because two of the exhibits were closed and the water area seemed to be missing balls or rubber ducks or some sort of objects that would make it more interactive or interesting.

The Boston Tea Party attraction is between the parking lot and the museum. The milk shaped ice cream stand is definitely worth a visit on a hot day.

Bring the family, this is a sure fire hit with the (pre-teen) kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Boston Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.