We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Children's Museum

Boston Children's Museum
308 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
617-426-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Boston Children's Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$54*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #41 of 420 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights of this interactive museum include the "Science Playground," featuring giant soap bubble-making tools and the "New Balance Climb," which teaches kids the laws of physics while navigating through a two-story-high maze.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Happy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We visited with our two boys (10 & 7) and were pleasantly surprised by how much fun the older one had. I would say 10 is approaching the upper limit of their target age, though. They enjoyed the New Balance Climb and the Kid Power areas the most, but Science Playground and other areas were also fun. Especially if it's rainy or cold, the Boston Children's Museum is a nice side trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    123
    36
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for children to play and learn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent time had by all. So many great activities for the kids, many attendants waiting to help, very clean, and obviously very family friendly. This is a great value for the price too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good day trip even for toddlers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went here on a Saturday with our 2 year old son. It can get a little busy on the weekends, but it wasnt over the top. If you have a toddler, the museum turns into something of a play place. I thinkt he learning aspect would be better felt if the child was say 5 years old. Either way, we had a good time. They have an area where you can bring food and take a lunch break. There is also an Aubonpain there, but it is expensive as expected. If you are able to sift through the mom jeans everywhere, it is a great place to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I took my toddler to museum while visiting Boston. He loved the museum. We have a membership to Please Touch in Philadelphia so we were admitted for free. There were so many exhibited for my son to have fun. There was a tot area perfect, we had to drag him from the train set. The construction zone was great. The climbing apparatus at the entrance was so cool, although my tot was scared and wouldn't go up.

We had so much fun, if I'm ever back in Boston we will definitely visit again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great museum for 5 year olds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent the day at the Boston children's museum and spent the first half hour on the 3 story climber. She couldn't seem to make it past the first activity. The kindergarten room was a wonderful replication of a real classroom. It was a valuable and memorable experience for both of us. Highly recommended for younger kids and energetic parents! The place was exceptionally clean.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Boston Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.