We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum

Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum
Congress Street Bridge, Boston, MA 02210
617-338-1773
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$41*
and up
Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #10 of 195 Attractions in Boston
Type: History Museums, Ships, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the Boston Tea Party Ships and Museum, you can be a part of the famous event that forever changed the course of American History! It’s more than a stroll through historic artifacts – it’s an adventure! Located on the Congress Street Bridge in Boston, Massachusetts, this floating museum is unlike anything you’ve ever experienced before. Live actors, high-tech, interactive exhibits, authentically restored tea ships and the stirring, multi-sensory documentary “Let it Begin Here,” are just a taste of what you’ll see, hear and feel. Meet the colonists, explore the ships and dump tea overboard just as the Sons of Liberty did on that fateful night of December 16, 1773. Stop in at Abigail’s Tea Room for teatime and visit the Gift Shop for special souvenirs. It’s educational, entertaining and enlightening — an experience not to be missed by adults and children of all ages. Your tour of the Boston Tea Party Ships and Museum will last approximately one hour and will take you through a variety of displays that are interconnected. The tour is designed to give you the opportunity to participate, explore and learn about the people, events and consequences that led up to the American Revolution in the order in which they actually occurred more than 230 years ago.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must do in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wasn't sure at first as there is not much to see from the street. My son said yes, so off we went. Characters walk you through the history, with some audience participation. Not any that will embarrass you. Holographic action and historical movie. Couldn't have been done better by Disney. My son won't forget his history either. All museums should be this fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    343
    83
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best Boston tourist site. I highly recommend. I'll be bringing all my out of town guests here. And there is an awesome gift shop for those Boston souvenirs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant visit wekll worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time - the tour was well organised and contained a wealth of well planned and presented information. The tea room was a great way to end a fantastically educational visit

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I must admit that upon entering the main door that brought us into the gift store made me wonder how well the Museum would be presented. Well It was on par with Museums I've visited in Philadelphia and Washington, DC. The people were in period costumes and had the tour groups participate in their performance of the "Boston Tea party" I'm the typical wise guy that tried to throw them a cuve but they didn't miss a beat. That was a fun concept to the tour. The displays were excellent and the talking portraits were a surprise. The life sized "holographic" theater amazed my wife. She thought they were actual performers until they disappeared. The size of the ships made everyone wonder how people would actually travel across an ocean. There was a display set up with an actual Tea Crate from that historic act. The cafe was well appointed for tea and crumpets. Restrooms were clean and welll maintained. I think people of all ages that want to know about an important part of our history will come away with a least one "I didn't know that..." comment.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Travel back in time to the Tea Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A fun learning experience for visitors and Boston residents alike, I recommend this attraction to history buffs.
This tour is narrated by actors in period costume, and you will be asked to play along. You'll be given a feather which you can keep as a souvenir. The tour has one or two surprises that I won't spoil here, and also provides the photogenic opportunity to toss a box overboard. The highlight for me was seeing one of the original crates from the Boston Tea Party, now on permanent display in the small museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.