We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in the world! been on alot of continents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Island

Castle Island
William J. Day Boulevard, Boston, MA 02127 (South Boston)
617-268-5744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 210 attractions in Boston
Type: Parks, Historic Sites
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The site of a fort erected in 1634, Castle Island is a great place to walk, jog or just unwind and enjoy the view.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the world! been on alot of continents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 NEW

But this is my true piece of heaven....it is so beautiful, you can see the ocean in front of you as you do the walk around Castle Island, watch the planes take off and land at Logan, see the sleek sails on the many boats and ships, para- sailors in the Harbor boasting their colorfuls sails, food with family friendly prices at Sullivan's! and a multitude of people from different places in life enjoying what Castle Island has to offer! Come and enjoy my paradise, my get away from the world whenever I can make it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    66
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hot summer day? Go to Castle Island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A few of my family members and I spent a few hours here recently on a very hot and humid day. No heat here. The breeze off of the ocean was so refreshing. The views of Boston and the islands are lovely. It is a great place for kids to run around and play. Picnic tables are placed in shady areas under trees and there is a sandy beach area. The whole area is kept very clean. I would recommend it as a nice place to visit, walk and picnic during the hot summer days.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Shouldn't Be a Secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My daughter, who lives in the area, took me to Castle Island when I saw visiting, and I thought it one of the nicest afternoons we have had in the city. A good place to stroll around, looking at the fort and enjoying the obvious enjoyment of others (largely couples and families), with a nice view across the harbor. Food is available. If you don't know the area, a GPS system would be hand to get there. Free parking upon arrival.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great view of the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I went to Castle Island for lunch with a friend one afternoon. Grabbed some food at Sullivan's, which was ok, and then took a quick walk around. Parking was easy, and free, and the view of the busy Boston Harbor was great. Nice sunny day when we were there.

Great place to bring the kids so they can run around the grass and enjoy the view.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

great walking. if you get hungry after a beautiful stroll then stop at sullivans or "sullys" as its known and grab the worlds best hot dog or fried clams. its not the healthiest food but there are no calories on a vacation. on 4th of july you can watch the uss constitution turn around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castle Island to your Saves list