We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library

John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library
Columbia Point, Boston, MA 02125
617 514 1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 209 attractions in Boston
Type: History Museums, Libraries, Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Relive the Kennedy era in this dynamic combination museum and library, where your visit starts with a short film and then leaves you on your own to explore a series of fascinating exhibits, including the Kennedy-Nixon debate, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the space program, 1960s campaign paraphernalia and displays about Jacqueline and other Kennedy family members. The striking, I.M. Pei-designed building overlooks the water and the Boston skyline.
London U.K.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fascinating and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You cannot visit Boston without also including the JFK Presidential Library. This was our third visit because there was a special exhibit for the 50th Anniversay of JFK's election. Also included were recorded memoirs from Jackie Kennedy released for the anniversay by Caroline Kennedy which were quite fascinating and gave a different slant on the short time spent in The White House. For those of us who were only teenagers when these momentous events happened it's incredible to believe how long has passed since we all thought the world would end with the Bay of Pigs.
It is quite thought provoking to wonder how world history was affected by the assasination and how things might have been had JFK and his brother Robert realised their destiny, even now I can remember that awful day, as can most people who were alive then. The library is well worth a visit - it's easy to get to with a free shuttle to and from the 'T' station, the memorabilia and photos are very thought provoking, we stood and listened to JFK's innaugural speech, and thought how little some things have changed and how relevant it still was all these years on. The site of the library is beautiful with a wonderful view right across to Boston over the water. You can certainly while away a couple of very interesting hours on a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    282
    66
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Takes me right back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Anyone who lived through Camelot and ensuing assisnation should make this a must see when in Boston. It is located south of city (not far) right on the water. The 3 story glass window to the water is breathtaking. By coincidence the day before was the 49th anniversary of JFK's assisination. I went with my 27 yr old son and he was impressed and moved.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great insight into JFK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This museum is right on the water - easy access and parking. It is very informative. The tour ends at a room with floor to ceiling glass that looks over the harbor and is beautifil.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went here a few weeks after visiting the JFK Museum in Berlin and were disappointed, Compared to that and thenClinton Presidential Library, we thought we didn't really get a sense of this great President. The space is lovely-modern and attractive. Be advised: getting a taxi after visiting the museum can take a while.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you can find it, it's well worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a few hours in Boston and having been there before we decided to try and find something new to us.
We saw the museum and library on a map just across the bay from the airport so we walked there.
Nice walk around a little bay took us eventually to the museum which, from the outside looks like a white building with a glass annexe.
When you enter the museum, you see the huge open space and the equally huge Stars and Stripes hanging from the roof - very impressive.
First stop is a little cinema to get some background of JFK - then you exit by another door into the exhibition itself.
The exhibits are all in different rooms and you are guided through a treasure trove of historical artifacts from the Kennedy era when he was running for President.
There is much to see so leave a lot of time - there are even items from the race to space....

All in all, a very interesting place to go if a little out of the way from the main part of the city but well worth the trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library to your Saves list