We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moved me to tears . . . but for the wrong reasons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vinoteca di Monica

Vinoteca di Monica
143 Richmond St, Boston, MA 02109-1414 (North End)
617-227-0311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinoteca di Monica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #650 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Hanover St.
Transit: Haymarket, Gov't Center & Aquarium
Newton, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Moved me to tears . . . but for the wrong reasons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Good food, terrible service. And by terrible, I mean a server who was rude, insulting, condescending, and barely deigned to answer questions. When asked about the possibility of preparing one of the evening's specials with the sauce on the side, our waiter was quick to reply that he could only sell what the chef prepared. Yes, but couldn't chef just make the gnocci and pour the sauce into a separate dish rather than onto the gnocci? Immediate answer: "No. So do you want that dish, ma'am?" he asked with an impatient tap tap tap of his pen on the order pad. There were additional exchanges as I struggled to understand why what I was requesting seemed so beyond our waiter's comprehension, and he was struggling to comprehend why I couldn't just order exactly what was on the menu, exactly as it was written.

One of our dining companions was so incensed that she jumped and went to the kitchen staff and asked to speak to the chef. She was told that the chef doesn't speak to people.

We dined on the early side on a Friday night. The restaurant was packed. Whatever they are doing seems to be working, though it wasn't working for us on this particular night. As another reviewer said, there are plenty of great restaurants in the North End. I will not be quick to return to this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    24
    28
    9
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Food, service and overall management is the worst. My order was wrong and the lister dish was vioid of lobster. Waiter said " we serve good food and he was sorry I didn't appreciate good food!" Stay away fro this place. There are too many good restaurants in Boston to eat at this joint.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Enjoyed a nice dinner here, fairly spacious for the North End. Interior spaces make it seem intimate, large bar area on one side of the restuarant we could see through interior window, very interesting set-up. Caprise salad, very large, enough to share with 2 others with me. Pasta dishes very good, all around thumbs up!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a Friday evening reservation for 9pm, and were seated promptly upon arrival. Solid wine list, with several good values in the $30-40 range. Extensive list of specials for the evening made for hard decisions, but settled on a pasta special of gnocchi with a wild boar ragu (for me) and a sausage and broccoli rabe pasta (for him). Both were excellent (as expected, as we get fresh pasta from Monica's mercato regularly). Serving sizes were reasonable (filling, but not so large needed to take a doggie bag.) Service was attentive without being intrusive. Definitely will return to sample more of the pasta dishes, and perhaps to try the pizzas, which also looked excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bévilard
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with awful food ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Good place for eating... American food but not Italian at all.
Carpacio was covered with mayonnaise (!) and gnocchi all ragout were done with can ragout.
We won't go there anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Vinoteca di Monica also viewed

 

Been to Vinoteca di Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinoteca di Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.