We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local's bar - great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coda Bar & Kitchen

Coda Bar & Kitchen
329 Columbus Ave, Boston, MA 02116-5157 (Formerly coda bar & kitchen) (South End)
617-536-2632
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #526 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: South End
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local's bar - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Been going here since Coda opened, and even though the chef has changed, the food continues to get better! App's, entree's (meat, fish, chicken, pork) are all great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    20
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cool fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you want some place cool but not to fancy, this is the place. The food here is great, should be something for everybody's taste. I chose the Pork-wonton, and their signature burger. It was all really tasty.

Liked the relaxed atmosphere and the staff was good and helpful too. Great for a small grop of people to come and eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a great find, exceptional food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stumbled across Coda looking for somewhere to eat recently. Without a reservation we were seated quickly in this lively, funky place. The food was very good, inventive and learning towards healthy eating options. The prices were very good for both food and wine. A great neighbourhood restaurant on the south side of Boston. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I had just an average visit here. Some things were good, some not.

I had steak frites. Costs more if you say frites instead of fries, but the price was actually reasonable $20. My steak was good and cooked well. I asked for medium and got medium. Of course it is 5 or so pieces of steak sliced, so you can damn well see if it is cooked correctly. If it isn't you should be fired as a cook. But it was good.

It comes with frites. Whatever. Fries. They are thin sliced and some were very good and some were soggy. Damn can't explain that. They were also a bit over salted. In general they were ... Average.

The asparagus stunk. It was soggy and not fresh. It should be fresh even in the 3-5 growing days in the northeast. I was there on day 4. If really was not good and I like good fresh grilled asparagus. So I was disappointed.

Service was ... Average. Damn, we have a theme here. Sometimes attentive, sometimes ..... where are you?

So good steak with average fries, read frites, and bad asparagus = average.

So of you aspire to average ... eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I went here for lunch. My husband got the wedge salad. They served a half of an entire lettuce with blue cheese dressing that was honestly from a dressing bottle and maybe 4 pieces of bacon on it. They charged $9 dollars for this, and I dont even think we would have paid $3 for it. I got the burger, which I split with my husband, because his meal was so bad. The bread would not stay together, and by the end of my half it just all fell apart. I was very dissapointed. Bot of these items are very easy to make. Would not go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Coda Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coda Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.