We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Voile

La Voile
261 Newbury Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
6175874200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Voile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 2,833 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield / Gloucester
Transit: Copley square or Hynes Convention Center on Green Line
Description: La Voile is an authentic French brasserie, opened in Cannes in 1947. After a few years under a new ownership, it relocated to Boston in 2007.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife an I recently enjoyed a superb meal at La Voile. Each course was simply outstanding, the wait staff attentive and the atmosphere was charming. It isn't inexpensive but it is value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    65
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent French food in the heart of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It seems a little ironic that some of the best food we had on our trip should have been French, sat outside on the little terrace, live music in the background could almost have been France... Apart from the Harley Davidson roaring up the road, friendly waiters and the wine prices...
Its not the cheapest restaurant in the world, but the Taste of France 3 course menu is really good value and the food was excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pricey, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were lucky to be able to sit on the terrace on a hot summer day, sipping some very good Chablis. The assiette de charcuterie was very good and the bread perfect. The sole meunière was enormous, perfectly cooked, and expensive- but it comes from far away. All in all, un petit coin de France sympa à Boston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very authentic French ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a charming small restaurant that has the feel of being in France. The maitre d' and the waiters speak French. It is an intimate space that is ideal for couples or a small group. The food was very good and so was the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem consistently shines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Another perfect evening at La Voile, welcomed by friendly staff, cocktails at the bar and an outstanding dinner.

My evening started at the bar with what I consider as an all time favorite, created by bartender Rory and named "Tahitian Bulldog." His own mix of ground up almonds and other condiments with rum and grapefruit. A perfectly balanced refreshing summer cocktail.

I ordered the Les Escargots as an appetizer which absolutely delicious, and for my main course I had the Dover Sole Meuniere with fingerling potatoes, hazelnut butter, capers & lemon, perfectly cooked and flavorful. A perfect ending to an outstanding meal, I had the L'île Flottante Et Crème Anglaise floating island & "creme anglaise" for dessert.

A perfectly perfect evening with great food, wine and superb service. I will most definitely be back for more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Voile also viewed

 

Been to La Voile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Voile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.