We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Voile

La Voile
261 Newbury Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
6175874200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Voile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 2,824 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield / Gloucester
Transit: Copley square or Hynes Convention Center on Green Line
Description: La Voile is an authentic French brasserie, opened in Cannes in 1947. After a few years under a new ownership, it relocated to Boston in 2007.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Continues to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Parking is always a challenge when visiting Newbury Street in Boston but the inconvenience is more than made up for when you enter this exceptional restaurant.

A smile and courteous service greet you and this is added to when you reach your table.

The food is outstanding and my escargot and Magret did not disappoint.

A great wine list is also available and this is supported by knowledgeable staff.

We will continue to recommend this bistro and return on a regular basis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    64
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“LA VOILE FLAPPING IN THE WINDLESS SEA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My sister, a gourmet, thought we should try this french brasserie as we had never had french cuisine in Boston. We drove up and down Newbury Street trying to find the restaurant which was buried in the basement amidst rows of shops and apartments. The service was very good with the maitre'd and the garcon speaking in french accent. Unfortunately, the food was average and 'old french'. The only saving grace was 'the whole sea bass' ordered by my brother-in-law was the best fish he had ever had! French cuisine outside of France had become 'PASSE'!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year's eve meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had pre-fix 4 course dinner on New Year's eve. The service was excellent. It was acutally 5 course meal for a good price. Foie gras was so delicious, melted in my mouth! It was a lot of food and my husband & I were stuffed. You will not go hungry for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyons, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My man and I were in town and decided to visit on Christmas day. We called the day before because we wanted to go for lunch..they said they were having a 29 dollar holiday luncheon special. When we arrived they gave us the menu without mention of any 29 luncheon. So we asked and they gave it to us but honestly they wanted us to order the 69 menu. The service was quite unorganized as first we ordered wine and 10 minutes later they brought us a complimentary Kir that was posted on that menu. The food was good but not up to our standards having dined at all the top 3 Michelin star restaurants in France this one would not have even been awarded the Bib Gourmande. I loved the interior though as it is charming and warm as opposed to the minimalist style taking over the interiors of French restos in France today.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cannes comes to Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Three of us had reservations at 5 pm and found the charm and ambiance of this French Bistro apparent the moment we walked in. The food was very good but what really made out nite was the staff, extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Haven't seen table side service for many years but the manager/maitre d' was an expert at this lost art. Two of us had the whole duck carved at the table and we also had the pan seared fresh foie gras which was outstanding. I felt I was in France for the evening. Looking forward to my next meal there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Voile also viewed

 

Been to La Voile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Voile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.