We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot on the lake-o.k. room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westlake Waterfront Inn

Westlake Waterfront Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hardy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westlake Waterfront Inn
Save
You added Westlake Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
2050 Morewood Rd., Hardy, VA 24101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hardy
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice spot on the lake-o.k. room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We were so glad to find a spot on the lake that would accommodate us for just a night. We never met Ron but he was very friendly and helpful while booking our reservation. The rooms look out on the lake. We really enjoyed sitting out on the lawn chairs in the evening and watching the stars and the boat lights. Very peaceful. Our friends were allowed to launch their boat and park their truck in the lot for a small fee.

The rooms were somewhat econo. The decor is cheap and outdated, toiletries very budget. I never would consider going back at $150 a night....except for the nice spot on the lake and the fact that there are no other options. Oh, and the dogs were perfectly fine...gentle giants.

There is a restaurant right across the road, but they are new and not (yet?) up to par. The breakfast was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We went last minute over the fourth of July and were lucky to get the last room on Sunday. The owner Ronnie helped us out of a jam while launching the boat. He also helped make sure we got back out when we left. The boat slips are great - you can just hang out in your boat in the evening at the dock. The building faces East so in the summer the back is shady and comfortable. The rooms are spartan, with older beds but really clean and well maintained. Not a great nights sleep, but the location, view and friendly owners made up for that. Smith Mountain Lake is beautiful and this is the best place to stay if you have a boat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg Va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

If you want to be on the lake, especially is you fish, this is a great spot. It is basic construction, nothing fancy, clean and taken care of. Beautiful views, when we were there only one other rm was taken so I can't comment on noise between rooms ect. There are two dogs there, they do not bother you other than to greet you upon arrival. Our basic complaint is about the water. Our water ran a red rust color no matter how long you used it, when we got out of the shower the washcloth was red. Toliet water was red, ect Makes everything smell like rust, the owner explained when we got there, there was iron in the water but it wasn't a problem, well it's only a problem if you use water! Wouldn't stay there again with that issue. Refig/microwave and small table in rm, cheap furnature, alarm clock didn't work, tv did have cable channels. Shopping and places to eat nearby,,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, New England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We have stayed at the Westlake Waterfront Inn twice, and each time it was just wonderful! The owners are so friendly and did everything they could to make us comfortable. We love dogs, and I do have to disagree with one of the previous reviews. The dogs --especially the Rottie -- did NOT approach us and actually had to be called over several times before they would come. (Especialy the Rottie, who was the sweetest and most well trained I have ever come across.)

I dont know how anyone can be threatened by a Golden Retreiver., but can certainly understand being afraid of a Rottie --- until you meet this one! (I think his name was Zeus?). He was so well-trained that he would not come into our room, even when coaxed with food. The owner told us she had trained him that way as she felt it would be more comfortable for the guests if he kept his distance. Make no mistake.... in my opinion the dogs were sweet and gentle. (We missed our own pets alot and wanted to have theirs with us.) So even if you are not an animal lover, this is the place for you. Just dont call them over.

The rooms were clean and had wonderful views, both in front and in back. We sat out on the porch in front of our room each morning with our coffee and it was just magical. There was also a gazebo that we sat in and read.

The husband and wife owners were quick to fill us in on places to eat and see, but did not insist on talking talking talking to us every minute (which is why we do not stay at Bed and Breakfasts anymore.)

We will definitely return and want to thank the owners (and the animals) for making our trip a wonderful one.

  • Liked — The views and the owners.
  • Disliked — It was a little hard to find but well worth the search.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

We booked 3 nights at the Westlake Waterfront Inn sight unseen, in order to visit Smith Mountain Lake as a potential retirement location. We ended up adding an extra night to our stay!

The Westlake is run by a very friendly couple and their adult daughter. They do have 2 dogs and 2 cats. One dog is a golden retriever, the other is a laid-back rottweiler. They do not pester the guests unless the guests approach the dogs. They are usually quite busy catching small fish (the golden) or moving rocks in the water (the rottweiler). The cats are tame, but prefer to be petted and not picked up.

The Inn is beautiful. Every room has a front and back door, with a water view from each. There IS a tub in every room. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet (at least ours was, and one night of our stay was a full house). There are loaves of bread to feed the carp, and chairs outside of every room for sitting on the covered balcony.

Rooms have microwaves and good sized mini-fridges. The coffeemaker only has regular coffee, so bring a decaf if you want.

We rented a pontoon boat right across the street and the boat was beautiful. The marina staff is friendly and helpful. There are also two dogs at the marina. Smith Mountain Lake seems quite dog friendly!

There was a LOT of boat traffic on the lake on Saturday and the first half of Sunday. Weekdays in the summer are much nicer for boating and fishing.

Pick up a free map in the lobby...they are invaluable if you are cruising the lake. It was our first trip here, but definitely not our last. It took us over 7 hours to drive here, and I'll probably cry the entire way home. If I could just stay and stay, I would.

This is a not a Sheraton or Hyatt. There is no room service, gift shop, or coffee shop. However, there's a nice strip mall not far away with a Kroger's, CVS, and Wendy's. You won't starve.

  • Liked — Waterfront location
  • Disliked — No food availability within walking distance
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

The Westlake Waterfront Inn is basically a Super 8 by the water. If you don't mind putting up with a hard bed, no bathtub, paper thin walls, no hair dryer, no shampoo/lotion & towels like sandpaper then this is the place for you. In its defense the room was very clean & did have a wonderful view. Sitting on the balcony looking out over the water was the highlight of our stay. Oh, & you must love big dogs as the proprietor allows her dogs free reign of the place. I personally don't like dogs & they don't like me. They look at me & see lunch, it seems, I've been bitten so many times. So I wasn't happy with these dogs asserting themselves on me while I sat there. I tried to hint to the owner that I don't like dogs but she defended them. It isn't good when a hotel's owner doesn't care about the comfort of her guest. This stay was to celebrate my 2nd honeymoon with my husband but we were so uncomfortable we checked out a day early.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the hard bed & the price!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amma,WV
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

My friends and I stayed here on a fishing trip april,6-7. Met dad and daughter upon check in, very nice and friendly people. Very clean rooms, dock slip for every room with eletric so bring your boat. We hired pro guide Todd Keith from the shad taxi he will pick you up at the hotel dock.

  • Liked — All lake front rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westlake Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlake Waterfront Inn

Address: 2050 Morewood Rd., Hardy, VA 24101
Location: United States > Virginia > Hardy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Westlake Waterfront Hotel Hardy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westlake Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.