We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was convenient but not the cleanest.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Inn

Save Saved
You added Lake Inn to your Saves list
Lake Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Inn
45 Enterprise Lane, Hardy, VA 24101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hardy
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It was convenient but not the cleanest.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After reading the two 2008 reviews I was extremely hesitant to make reservations at this motel, especially after reading about the cockroach,  but I rationalized that by now all the problems would have been addressed. So we made reservations for two days to attend a wedding. We were particularly encouraged by the two reviews in August 2012 and felt a lot more at ease about our decision not withstanding the fact that the Inn charged our AMEX card two weeks before we checked inn. 

When checked in we found the motel was somewhat aged but the room seemed clean enough. We had a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, and a vintage colored TV.  We had to visit our relatives so we left our unpacking until later. When  we returned that evening we unpacked and turned down the covers on the beds and discovers what happened to that cockroach that ran across the room in 2008 .  It was dead between our bed's cover and the blanket.  Because  the roach was dead and we really didn't want to change rooms late at night we stayed the following night and reported our findings to the checkout clerk. 

 Since there are no other hotels in the area and it is centrally located, I would stay there again if I had too but would rather stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were a bit leery to stay here because of the lack of recent reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. We wanted an inexpensive place to stay on the lake and this was just the ticket. We had two non smoking queen rooms. They gave us rooms beside each other which were great. The rooms smelled of cleaner, but at least we knew they were clean! The beds were a bit hard but nothing unbearable. I would suggest bringing your own pillows though if you have room. The towels were the typical small motel towels so I would also suggest brining a bath towel if you are picky but the ones provided were clean and did the trick.

The breakfast was doughnuts, yogurt and toast, all of which were fresh. Coffee, juice and hot water also available.

The staff were great. Both the reservation process and check in were very smooth. The hotel confirmation was emailed to me so that was nice, it was not needed, but good to have. It is also within walking distance to a gas station and close to mini golf and also other off-lake activities.

We will definitely stay here again. Many times we travel to the lake just for the day but after finding the Lake Inn, we may take more weekend trips now having a reliable and inexpensive option to stay at the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I decided on a whim to take our boat up to Smith Mountain Lake for 2 days, and just needed an inexpensive place to stay for 1 night. After calling several places in the area, we decided to stay at the Lake Inn. Like I said in the title, it suited our purpose. I thought the service both on the telephone and in person were very good. We had a room with a queen bed (VERY firm), TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Our bathroom had a stand-up shower only, but I presume they have rooms available with a tub if you need one. We didn't try to get on the internet, so I don't know about the wi-fi service. The facilities were very clean, but definitely dated. The room key was literally a key on a keyring with the room number. I haven't seen one of those in years! The air conditioning worked very well, but was also very noisy. Also, there were 2 lights in the bathroom - one being a heat lamp and the other being the light & fan. If you like to keep a "night light" on in the bathroom, there was no way to do that without the fan noise. But since the air conditioner was so noisy, the fan noise didn't matter. While I didn't personally look over the complimentary breakfast items, my husband said that there were some donuts (very fresh), great coffee (but only powdered cream), bagels (and perhaps bread) available for toasting and juice. They also offer smoking and non-smoking rooms. The location was convenient for us. My husband commented that it would be a great place for fishermen(women) to stay. I guess because the parking is suited for boats/trailers and because of the proximity to public boat launch areas. I would probably stay there again if I could be sure that the bed wasn't as hard as the one we had during this visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel for the past four years and spent well over a thousand dollars with them. - namely because until this summer they were the only motel in town. My stay this past weekend was horrible. We rented four rooms for one night (three for our family and one for a friend). After coming back from a late dinner at 11:30pm the key for one of the rooms would not work. We contacted management which took 1 1/2 hours before putting two members of our party into another room. When making the reservations I put the rooms on my credit card. When we checked in I made sure they front desk staff knew to charge my husband's credit card - and I gave them his credit card. After returning home and checking my bank account I realized they had charged my husband's card for the roooms as well as my credit card. This put my account into the red. I have spent the past 48 hours trying to have this corrected. I even found the name and phone number of the owner and called him. I was told by the owner there was nothing he could do until he talked with the manager because she was the only one authorized to credit my card. The owner also told me the manager was out of town and there was nothing he could do until she returned.
The rooms are moderately clean and have small televisions.
I happy there are now other accomdations in the area where we can stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

On the surface a really great room. Problem appeared on the 3rd day of our stay when a cockroach ran across the room! Unfortunately it was late friday night and the motel was full so another room was not available. The next day we were told it was a "water bug", but NOT in my opinion, having seen roaches all over the world! No offer of a refund for part of time....nothing!

  • Liked — Took pets
  • Disliked — The cockroach in our room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Inn

Address: 45 Enterprise Lane, Hardy, VA 24101
Location: United States > Virginia > Hardy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Inn, established in 1996, is located at Westlake Corner. Lake Inn is the place to stay for your family vacations or business trips. We are nestled in the heart of the Smith Mountain Lake area next to intersection Rt. 122 & 616. Since Lake Inn is centrally located, we have an ideal spot that is fun for everyone. The Westlake Corner vicinity is one of the most developed spots in the lake area. Golf courses, shopping plazas, and restaurants surround Lake Inn. With real estate offices near by, we can accommodate you while you're in search of the perfect home. Be sure to bring the children along. You can give your children the memories they deserve. Mini-golf, go-cart tracks, bumper boats, arcades, ice cream, Center in the Square, D-Day Memorial, and Booker T. National Monument all nearby, which are fun, as well as educational. Plus all the various lake activities! Bring your family and check out Lake Inn for yourself. Also, pets are allowed in designated rooms for an additional $15.00 charge per night, because we know pets are an important part of the family. Rely on us to get some deserving R&R and really enjoy yourself in our clean comfortable rooms. Rooms come with one or two queen beds or one king bed. All rooms come with coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave, table and chairs, hair dryer, wireless high speed internet, cable television and HBO. Rooms w/ iron and ironing board available upon request. This ensures the quality of our rooms and the quality of your stay. Also each room is fisherman friendly. We provide outside electrical outlets for charging trolling motors. In addition, most rooms are ground level and handicapped rooms available upon request. With no extra cost you receive a home away from home. For a unique and delicious dining experience while staying with us, be sure to visit Joe's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria located just steps away from Lake Inn! Great Food for Every Taste! Another way we help make you feel like you're at home! A great vacation is yours to enjoy at Lake Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.