We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue M

Avenue M
791 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804
+1 828-350-8181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Avenue M is a neighborhood restaurant and bar in the heart of North Asheville where the locals EAT.DRINK.GATHER.- Serving an eclectic menu - something for everyone- 14 local taps- great wine list and a full bar-
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We recently went to Avenue M for the first time since we moved to Asheville 5 years ago.My wife has a sensitive stomach so its hard to find a restaurant she can eat at, but she loves this place and is now our go to restaurant. The hospitality and food was both warm and incredible, the specials were reasonably priced and fresh, and our waitress April was very friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely be back there this Sunday for there brunch special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Patio and Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I love coming here again and again. Great place for sitting outside on the patio for drinks and food. They have an amazing appetizer list which has me craving for more: Beef Medallions, ***Spicy Ginger Tofu, and they have great salad dressings! Not to mention they have a delicious seared hanger steak. To top things off try Brad's old fashion, with bacon infused bourbon!

Service is great and don't forget to bring your friendly dog to sit on the patio with you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After eating at this restaurant 2 years ago thing it was great. I was excited about going back. This time the service was just ok. They were very ridged about not making any changes to some of the menu items. Asked to have bacon left off the burger special they refused to do it!! They just seemed to have a bad attitude. Food was ok but not as good as I remembered.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for couples and groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We eat here about once a month, this last time with a party of 12. Our table was waiting when we arrived. Everyone had good food, adults and children alike. Service was excellent, as usual.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Imaginative-Comforting & Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stopped by here for dinner after 6+ hours on the road with my college student and our senior dog. I had e-mailed ahead re. their dog friendly status and was not disappointed. In fact, we were greeted with a water dish and homemade cookie!

The menu was full of delectable choices and many of them were vegan, which was perfect for us. I had the chickpea crepes & my son had a black bean burger. Both dishes were fresh, beautifully presented and delicious.

The service was also top-notch and now that this place is on our radar, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue M also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Avenue M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue M, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.