We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Grove Park Inn

Save Saved
You added The Omni Grove Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Louisville, United States
1 review
“Out of place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is beautiful and historic. As a casual, outdoor traveller, I was a bit out of place. The hotel is removed from the heart of Asheville. It's a beautiful destination stay, but not the best choice if looking to experience Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    744
    284
    183
    94
    30
See reviews for
217
628
42
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed a night at the Grove Park Inn and it has lost its appeal for me. It has been several years since we were guests and the changes seemed to make our stay so impersonal. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful but the overall ambiance just wasn't the same as in the past. Parking was a nightmare as we were unaware of all the changes and fees. When the folks we were meeting tried to book a room they were told repeatedly that Grove Park was a four star resort as an explanation for all the additional fees. Really!! They stayed elsewhere. We always stay in the older section and our room was nice and basically clean except for the hairs in the bathtub which is a no-no as far as I'm concerned. I did like all the dining choices and of course the sunset porch, rockers and all the areas to sit, relax and enjoy the views. The spa was nice but very crowded. I will go back and give the inn a second chance but there are so many other equivalent places to stay in the Asheville area.

Room Tip: The traditional rooms in the oldest section have been updated but they still held their charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had the pleasure of at staying at The Omni Grove Park Inn in early July. This has been a personal bucket list hotel of mine and I was not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and the history is amazing. The staff is very knowledgeable and is happy to share the history with you. A must stop is going up the original elevator and seeing pictures of the building of the property. So amazing to see. We stayed in one of the newer wings but I would definitely try and stay in the original/main building in the future.

We decided to valet park but that is not necessary, self parking is very convenient and easy though a little pricey. We enjoyed a nice dinner on the Sunset Terrace, the views are amazing and the service exceptional. We also enjoyed drinks at Edison, again great views and a nice place to relax with a drink. The breakfast buffet in Blueridge is very good. I have not seen so many options in a breakfast buffet until dining here.

I would highly recommend this hotel for the atmosphere just keep in mind food options on property are not inexpensive. But the service provided by all staff is outstanding.

Room Tip: I would definitely try to stay in the original main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all the resort is beautiful and several of the outdoor dining areas have real nice views and all the employees go out of their way to help. The negatives: they nickel and dime you wherever they can. At check-in they try to upsell you on accommodations...if they have extra capacity at other hotels I've been upgraded for free...at this hotel the rooms aren't inexpensive to begin with so it would be a welcomed gesture. You walk into the room and see a bottle of water that says $5 if you want it...this is supposed to be a 4 star resort...bad form. Rooms are super small and a little dated. Resort fee addt'l $25 and self-parking fee of $15 add to the problem. I wouldn't call the resort a good value but nice for a romantic getaway if you want to stay mostly on property and don't mind being overcharged for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The place is worth seeing. The food is good, but expensive. The service is very good. The room amenities were poor for the price you pay to stay there. Come visit, but don't stay. Bring a heavy sweater-inside they keep very cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a suite on the club level (Vanderbilt Wing), which gave us access to the spa each day as well. It would have been fun to have seen or stayed in the historic wing (the lack of available rooms with a king-sized bed swayed us), but we had a lovely time enjoying all of the amenities that the club level provides (free breakfast, a cocktail hour, exclusive concierge services, spa access, etc.). We were celebrating a major birthday, so it seemed worth it, but it's definitely not the most inexpensive way to stay at the Grove Park Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was a wonderful first stay for my husband and my 50th birthday, and you treated our handicapped dog like a king, which we are very grateful. <3 Would like to point out wonderful people who made us feel so at home, who I remember their names, Becky Roberts at the concierge desk, and Betsy Longoria, who both made us feel like family though we had never met them. There were several bellmen in the front entrance that I really wish I could remember their names that were wonderful also, and showed kindnesses to our Max dog always had a treat for him.

I just remember a quote that stands out, "people may not remember what you did, but they remember how they made you feel", I felt very welcome and at home at the Grove Park Inn.

Thank you all for making our 50th birthday trip so wonderful!

Pope and Brian, and Max the wheelchair corgi. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Free internet...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Charming, Free...
Show More
3.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#11 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Charming, Free...
Show More
4.9 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#1 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pets Allowed, R...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
City Center, Po...
Show More
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Asheville West
Free internet...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#7 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#15 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Grove Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.