We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wishing for the old days...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Grove Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Grove Park Inn to your Saves list
The Omni Grove Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wishing for the old days...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The courtyard was mayhem when we arrived and after several minutes of being directed to different areas to unload we chose to unload ourselves and park in the surface lot. We didn't mind that so much as the general lack of concern by the courtyard/valet staff as compared to once we were at the front desk. The front desk staff was excellent, most welcoming and the highlight of our experience. We checked in and found our room to be in need of some additional cleaning (dusty, deodorant top on floor, sheetrock pieces from renovation?, broken nightstand) The front desk staff resolved this immediately providing us with a new and slightly larger room. Service at Great Hall Bar was rude and virtually non-existent on first night as a group of employees stood together at a door behind the bar complaining about their schedules within earshot of guests. We had to request service, request our checks and then were given much attitude when we requested a bag for our centennial commemorative glass that came with our $16 specialty beverage. Our waitress during dinner bragged about her years of experience as a waitress, but most of the service came from other employees as we hardly saw her after our initial ordering. She then excused herself as she "was new." Several times during our visit wait staff apologized with the same excuse that they were under new management, had only been here for a few weeks, etc. All not acceptable given the history of this property and the cost of accomodations and food and beverage. I grew up coming to The Grove Park and have stayed here many times as a child and young adult and was eager to give my partner "The Grove Park Experince." Sadly, he was ready to check out after the first night and had to be talked into staying. We did speak with the manager and she was quite nice and even bought us a drink in The Edison and sat and spoke with us for a bit. This went far in calming my partner, but the overall experince left us doubting that we would stay here again. We continued on to another spa/resort in Blowing Rock, NC with friends and they had much the same experince to share. We were surprised to learn that they go to The Grove Park Spa, but stay at another property in town. It is a shame that the level of service at the spa is not reflected at the property overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and providing feedback on your experience. We are very sorry for the complications and inconsistencies you experienced while you were here. We strive to continuously improve our guests experience and will disperse your commentary throughout our management. We hope you will choose to return next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    420
    264
    131
    36
See reviews for
342
942
58
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel was recently renovated and was lovely in keeping the with historical surroundings. Great place to have a meeting! There is plenty of things for the family to while in the Asheville area. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We were able to stay in the historical part of the building and found it very interesting. Sunsets from the outdoor Terrace is wonderful, especially with cocktails being served there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here to relax for a couple of days, and celebrate our wedding anniversary. Facilities and service were excellent. Very nice meals and spa experience. Room was large, clean, quiet, with good view. All staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your Anniversary with us and providing such positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed the amenities and service you received and hope you will join us again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Don't stay in the main building! The rooms are so old and dated for a 4 diamond rating! The grounds are gorgeous, the setting really beautiful. But I would never consider it a 4 diamond/star resort. at $400+ per night, the rooms should ALL be beautiful, comfortable, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and providing feedback. We are currently updating all the rooms in the Main Inn and apologize for the inconsistency you experienced. Please consider staying with us again next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Love the original as well as modern made to look arts and crafts doors, built-ins and furniture in the Inn and room. Beautifully maintained grounds and superb views. Mirrors and glass table top were not cleaned very well and a layer of dust under the arts and crafts wood covered refrigerator and microwave cabinet. They had to hurry to get our room cleaned because it wasn't ready at check in time, but the dust had been there for some time. I have MS and the step up into the bathroom, despite the reflective tape scares me some. I'm sure there are better rooms accessibility wise than in the area I asked for, but I still love the old part of the inn. Employees are fabulous and friendly. Perfect place for watching people in lobby as the breezes blow thru. Sunset Terrace best place on earth to have a drink or meal. Lounge entertainment each night we were there. Lunch for 2 on Terrace (2 salads, 2 iced teas) tax, automatic gratuity, some other fee was $65 dollars--pretty steep.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor, mountain view side. Higher than that you get into the "eyebrow" windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I fell in love with GPI back in 2006 and we faithfully stayed at no other place when visiting Asheville, which we do often being just in Greensboro. We were wholly disappointed by the aesthetic changes done to the Great Hall and the hotel itself. We feel it has destroyed much of the charm of the hotel. We were horrified that one of your signature drinks came in a mason jar, Fitzgerald never drank from mason jars I am sure. We are not against mason jars, that is fine at the local taco place but not at a signature hotel. Your gift shops have become a over priced CrackerBarrel mishmash. They sell almost no Asheville local products. The beer selection in the hotel bars is laughable considering they are in the newly crowned "Beer Capital of the U.S." We are planning a return trip to Asheville at the end of August and for the first time in 7 years we are sourcing a new place to stay. We might return to use the spa at some point as we found little changed there but overall the acquisition by Omni and subsequent lowering of the bar the hotel has done as caused use to make the heart aching decision or divorce ourselves from GPI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for being a longtime repeat guest of ours. We are sorry you did not like some of the updates we have recently made in order to update our amenities and restore our Inn closer to its original state. We worked closely with historians and local craftsmen to ensure that our work was consistent with the Arts and Crafts style that we are known for and bring back the "living room" feel that Dr. Grove had in mind when he built the Inn. As you pointed out, we are proudly pouring 9 different beers from local brewers and put a heavy focus on utilizing local produce, elixirs, gifts and art. We do hope you will decide to return next time you are in the area and take another look at all of our wonderful new updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwine, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I used to live in Asheville before the GPI was turned into a resort. Back then you could sit in the grand hall and have a quiet conversation. Now it has been turned into a hubbub of activity there is very little that is quiet about it. I guess if you have never been you would not miss that.
The quaint old GPI is now just a pricey resort with a spa. Nothing to set it apart from the other four hundred or so out there. Yes I know the views from the sunset terrace can be stunning!
That is not to say it is not a good hotel. It is a very nice hotel with nice rooms, some with a great view (not mine) and a better than average spa. ( Just a sidebar- my room overlooked the emergency generator which was activated when we lost power for 3 hours in the middle of the night) There is also the golf course which is short and tight with greens that will challenge the best of amateurs. The staff was good, the food (meeting food) was OK and the meeting facilities were more than adequate. All in all a nice stay...but nothing inspiring.
If what you seek is quaint, romantic and a wonderful spa drive through Asheville to Highlands and stay at the Old Edwards Inn. You will be glad you did! PS...If you want to go off track in luxury the Shag is another good choice in WNC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Business Hotel in Asheville
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#15 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Grove Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.