We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs some improvement.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8 Crowell Road, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #53 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Riverside, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel needs some improvement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

The night of our stay, we found a huge roach in our bathroom. It was crawling around by the sink. We figured if we ran into one, there could be more hiding within the walls. We plan on never staying at this particular Rodeway Inn again. I informed management about this on their comment card.
The hotel staff was friendly. They do need a variety of breakfast foods though. Something healthy for those concerned about their health would be nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    12
    4
    22
See reviews for
20
21
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I just spent two nights at the Rodeway Inn & Suites At Biltmore Square. It was a very good experience for the price (~ $45). The rooms and bathroom were clean and the hotel was also quiet at night. Regarding customer service, it was excellent! Mary at the front desk was very helpful with the reservations as well as all of our questions about Asheville. This hotel is conveniently located about 6 miles from the Biltmore. This place is perfect for anyone who would love to do some sight seeing in Asheville, but is on a tight budget. The other thing I would recommend is real creamer for the coffee in the morning. I could also smell (slightly) that there were rooms in the hotel for smokers, but it was not bothersome to me in my non-smoking room. I would totally stay here again.

  • Liked — Great value for the price. Excellent customer service!
  • Disliked — slightl smell of smoke.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

I was told by Hotels.com this was one of the better rated hotels in the Asheville area for the money. People, please, pay more, go somewhere else. Looked delightful from the outside with the hanging flower pots, but please check room before signing in. If you drive around to the back, what looks like utility doors is really your entrance. Metal & concrete fire-escape steps are right in your face when you open the door. Thin walls. I could hear neighbor set her keys down on the chair and put her pocketbook on the dresser. I could hear EVERY sound from others' bathrooms. Top bedcover dated and appeared dirty - what hotel uses those anymore? Cover blanket, same dingy mpression. Small area for hanging clothes adjacent to bed extends clothes over into your face. Big screen TV hanging on wall is nice, but numbers must be manually punched for channels - and remember, thin walls so I knew I had to keep it at a whisper. No elevators. Those who find it difficult to climb stairs will find headlights in their windows on the first floor. Hallways are dark and gloomy. Scent of Pinesol floods the corridors. Expect to have your pass key not updated if staying more than one night. Semi-trucks park in the area in the front. The warm glow that fills the room is not the sunset, it's your view of the back of the BP station. I didn't give this hotel one star because Cracker Barrel was almost in their driveway - and that particular CB received a 101% for cleanliness.

  • Liked — HOTELS.COM
  • Disliked — THIN WALLS - DARK HALLS - FEELING OF UNCLEANLINESS
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

This hotel appears to have gotten a new rug, furniture, flat screen tv, paint job. Many tv stations. I was pleased with my accommodations. The room was clean. For breakfast there was only krispy kreme donuts and coffee, but that did not matter to me. Staff was friendly. Cracker Barrell in walking distance.

  • Liked — The bed was very comfy
  • Disliked — lonely back door entry
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Asheville hotel rates are high, so I presented a discount travel coupon at this motel. It was a week night off-season, but they accepted it ONLY for 3rd floor rooms ( and there's no elevator). The room was small and clean, with micro/frig and wifi. There's no pool, and no breakfast but coffee & doughnuts. We had the 3rd floor pretty much to ourselves. Why would ANYONE build a three story motel with NO ELEVATOR?

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

My room was quite dirty. I'm not sure when the carpet was last cleaned or even vacuumed. The bathroom was generally unclean (although the sink and toilet seemed to be relatively clean), and the tub faucet leaked constantly like a babbling stream. Other problems: peeling paint in the bathroom, gaps in the tile which the toilet would have covered had it been aligned correctly, mattresses sagging in the middle, bed linens in poor shape. I met two members of management. One was helpful and friendly, the other not so much. I suppose with the price and the 1.5 star rating. what can one expect?

Some good stuff: the location near Asheville was good, all the appliances worked, the wireless internet was great, and (although I was fully expecting to see them) I didn't see any cockroaches.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacksburg va or Lewisburg Wv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

I was traveling with elderly father and explained this clearly when making reservations. We were put on 3rd floor ---they do not have elevator and did not inform us until arrival. No other rooms available, either. Beds were deceptively made up with BOXSPRINGS on top, as top mattresses were really NASTY. Shower did not work to wash off bug residue acquired while on sleeping on top of mattresses. Bedcovers were stained and holes burned through.
Neither manager nor Super 8 corporate will respond to my request for an apology for our stay.

They do not care and in my opinion not operating as innkeepers. That is, basics such as bed with mattress, hot water and cleanliness not provided.

Do NOT give them your business with your hard-earned money.

  • Liked — Being healthy enough to leave it in the morning
  • Disliked — Not accessible for elderly and the fact we slept on boxsprings ---mattresses were hidden under them as mattresses were too soiled for use
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 8 Crowell Road, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Asheville
Super Eight Asheville
Asheville Super 8
Asheville Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.