We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great price and very pet friendly to boot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Asheville West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Crowell Rd., Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great staff, great price and very pet friendly to boot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn two nights while a sick kitten had to stay at a local emergency vet clinic. Red Roof staff was great about getting us a room with a frig and microwave so we could feed the other kittens. Rooms weren't fancy, but liked having the solid floor and the price was great! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and accommodations. We genuinely enjoy offering a great place to stay for a reasonable price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    116
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
55
85
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I went here because the price was right and the reviews were great. While the room was clean it left much to be desired. The room smelled like mildew, was more humid than it was outside (even after running the fan and AC), the AC was very loud and off and on all night it alternated between chirping like there was a bird inside it and the sound of running water). Bed was ok, but pillows were mushy. When I made the reservation I was told the rooms had been renovated with hardwood floors and granite counter tops - well, looked more like vinyl flooring and only one counter was granite, the bath tub had not been renovated and was worn and stained. Coffee was offered in the lobby, but no creamer, so...probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay. I am glad you found us to be clean and a good price. Our coffee choices in the lobby offer three types of powdered creamer in vanilla, hazelnut and regular. I apologize that the air conditioner was making noise--we take pleasure in offering great accommodations at a reasonable price, and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I decided on the red roof inn because of it's good location to sites around Asheville and for it's low price of $60 (w/AAA discount). When I first arrived in the room I was satisfied with how clean the bedding was and the overall room in general. I am not picky as long as the room is clean I am fine without the amenities, especially at a price so reasonable. However, before going to bed I went to pick up something by the bed, glancing under and noticed a dirty used condom right by the edge. I was disgusted, it made me think of all the other possible bodily fluids and germs that could be around the room and honestly was worried about my dog thinking it was a toy and picking it up. Since it was very late at night when I noticed it I decided to just go to bed and say something about it in the morning, however I had great trouble sleeping since the room just felt dirty after that. The next morning I politely mentioned to the front desk how grossed out I was asked them to please clean it up so no one else had to have that experience. I was appalled at the staffs casual attitude to the problem. There was no apology or even sympathy to how disgusting it was, they just brushed it off and said they'd clean it up later. I will most likely never stay at a Red Roof Inn again.

Room Tip: Check under the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing us while in Asheville. We take pride in offering a clean, newly redecorated room at a great price. We want to let you know that our desk staff immediately made us aware of the problem that morning so that we could make sure this exception did not occur again. We hope that you will stay with us again so we can offer you our usual hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an older hotel. There have been obvious cosmetic updates but the structure was poor. On the second floor, the walk ways are uneven and vibrations from the building can be felt in the room. Also, the bath tub did not drain properly and was dirty. I wish I had brought shower shoes. The only extra amenities provided were hand soap, shampoo, and a pack of tissues. There was no microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, or coffee pot. I must say the pictures on the website are deceiving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your response. We hope that you will visit us again and choose one of our more deluxe room types such as the Superior King, which offers the amenities you are looking for with the in room coffee and microwave, fridge, iron and ironing board. We think you would be pleased with the choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Two star hotels are risky, but Red Roof Asheville blew the doors off with brand new clean rooms and a staff that actually seemed like they enjoyed being here. No hidden costs, a wifi that works, comfortable beds, and clean air... All that amounts to is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us in Asheville--our staff is proud to offer clean rooms and a great atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

i found this red roof inn for a awesome price i think 59 or 69 99 a night but man right in the moutians next to everything with in 100 ft is dunkin dounts hardess your gas station i mean can it get any better the rooms AWESOME PERFECT loved it beds were ehh i say 7/10 but man the place is perfect i say no more then 5 or a week the thing i would like there is to be a pool if they put a pool or a hot tub it be perfect but i say STAY HERE HOME AWAY FROM HOME PET FRIENDLY ALSO NO CHAGRE LAST GOOD HOTELS ON THE HIGHWAY

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for choosing our hotel while in Asheville--we are convenient to downtown and many of the area attractions. I am glad you found us to be convenient and comfortable at a great rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We were planning an overnight and decided to extend. The area surrounding this property and its proximity and ease of travrling around the city made us stay an extra night. We reserved a business king and were pleasantly surprised. This is by far the best room we have ever in this hotel chain. The room was spacious, the working area was more than convenient, it had a fridge, mucrowave, coffeemaker and the only thing lacking was a hair drier. There are several restaurants nearby but because of the convenience, we ate downtown at a wonderful Indian restaurant. From this hotel you can literally fall into a Hardees or a Dunkin Donuts or you can walk to an Applebees. The wifi worked and they have an acceptable tv cable. As in most of this chain hotels, there is no closet but a small area to hang clothes, which is fine with us. It is a very dog friendly hotel and that is why it is our second choice of hotel chains, the lack of breakfast being one of the reasons for being number two.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are happy that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay while in Asheville! Our updated rooms have a lot to offer in way of comfort and a great price. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Address: 16 Crowell Rd., Asheville, NC 28806
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#16 Business Hotel in Asheville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Asheville West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Asheville West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.