We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Smoky Park Highway, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The second Holiday Inn I loved to stay other than the one in Tokyo, Japan. I compared it to the one in Tokyo because of the indoor pool. This hotel is unique. The indoor pool and spa is at the lobby. It hurts my eye from the chlorine as soon as I walked in but I got used to it right away.

Our 3rd floor room is small but it was compensated with a balcony facing the swimming pool so it's definitely very inviting to swim any time. Request this room when you stay. It may a little loud that you can hear people inside your room but the pool closes at 10pm anyway. It stays quite the whole night after the swimmers are gone.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    56
    25
    14
See reviews for
72
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In September, our daughter booked two rooms for us at this hotel using her Priority Club Card and our American Express. We planned a weekend together in Asheville. A horrific car accident(which totaled our car) prevented us from traveling to Asheville and our daughter cancelled the room. We were nonetheless charged over $300. for two rooms. We called the hotel and explained the circumstances. We also explained that we had cancelled the reservations, secured with a Priority Club Card, but they refused to refund the money. They would not even give us a " credit" for a future visit. A phone call to corporate headquarters assured us that the hotel should refund our money, but the hotel management still refused. The relationship between individually franchised Holiday Inns and Corporate Headquarters is so loose that hotels can set their own policies about cancellations and refunds, and there is nothing the Headquarters can do about it. Be advised before you book at this hotel or at any Holiday Inn. We are still out $300.

Bill and Patricia Robinson, Aiken, SC

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear patriciaandbill,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased to know that this issue has been handled and resolved by IHGCare. I believe that the hotel share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and I am confident they will take the necessary steps to continuously improve their product and services. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were disappointed in this Holiday Inn experience. Although the common areas in the hotel were OK and the food service was good, the room was very ordinary with the hotel mislabeling it's standard rooms as Suites with Jet Tub. It was certainly not a suite, there is no separate siiting area and the pass-thru window to the tub is ackward and nonfunctional at best. It was not what we were expecting but we got no help from the hotel to change or upgrade rooms. In addition, the nonfunctioning jets in the tub after repair requests were never fixed. A very average room experience with low customer service.Decaturvisitor

Room Tip: Don't get a Suite - Jet Tub, not a good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear hj07,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I would like to apologize for the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations. I am also sorry for the service that affected your stay negatively. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is one of the nicest Holiday inns I have ever stayed in. Everything and everyone was so nice. The indoor pool and spa area is wonderful and the on site restaurant had food to die for. Excellent meeting place for family get togethers. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice, but the layout is WEIRD. You walk in and it is "open-air" with windows from guest rooms looking out into the atrium. Restaurant right off the lobby (food was good, we shared wings and flatbread pizza). The indoor pool is in the lobby. It is blocked off by a small wall so that you do not notice it right when you walk in. The screams and shouts allow you to know it's there. It is a nice hotel, but the walls in the hallway on our floor were scratched, scuffed, dented and it made the hotel appear dated. Our room was large and beds cozy. Clean, large bathroom. We would consider this hotel in the future, but only if it was a last resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

For the money, a nice stay. I would advise adding 2 more pillows to a king bed, add an extra blanket for the closet, and clean underneath the bed. However, the bed and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. For the money, it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay at this hotel whenever I'm passing through Asheville. The hotel is very clean and the location is convenient to attractions and dining. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that there's a fair amount of noise from the hallway but that tends to be the case with most hotels so I don't see that as a big negative.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Address: 435 Smoky Park Highway, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Mountains at Our Asheville, NC Hotel Come stay at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West and rediscover yourself in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel in Asheville is a place of relaxation and rejuvenation near the popular downtown area and just 11 miles from the Asheville Regional Airport (AVL). While lodging in Asheville, hotel guests will find many attractions nearby, such as the lovely Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum and the arts district of downtown Asheville. Our hotel is also located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Chimney Rock State Park, so you can experience the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains and discover waterfalls, hiking trails and rustic stops beyond the city limits of Asheville. Lodging in our hotel also provides business travelers with an ideal location near Thermo Fisher Scientific, First Step Farms, Slosman Corporation and other businesses in Asheville. Our accommodations offer over 4,700 square feet of flexible meeting space and a convenient on-site business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer premium services like guaranteed wake-up calls, a breakfast bar, a fitness center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can take a dip in our heated, indoor/outdoor pool and unwind with dinner and drinks at 435 Grill. We invite you to discover exceptional comfort at the Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.