We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal of my entire life!! Run, don't walk!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado Japanese Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mikado Japanese Steak House
45 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1229
828-258-9696
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 633 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst meal of my entire life!! Run, don't walk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ordered several items from the menu to go and all were inedible except for the white rice. They are using old grease/oil to cook in and the food reflects that. I have never posted a bad review about a restaurant in all of my 50+ years, but this is warranted. Chicken was nasty and rubbery, everything just tasted like old grease. Staff was friendly but I would never recommend this place even to my worst enemy. I should have taken the food order back but I did not want a replacement meal. We threw away $35 worth of food because it was so gross.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    17
    7
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Values”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love the Hibachi Sesame Chicken lunch special. The food is great and the staff is friendly and attentive. Good value

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food is brilliant - sushi and sashimi are the best.
Wait staff and the owner are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh so good red bean ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

after a wonderful supper wanted red bean or green tea ice cream. I was so excited to find it here. Personal treated us with courtesy and were charming for the fun request. The end of a perfect meal. Thanks

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Sushi!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is hands down my favorite place to eat in town. It's often overlooked by most locals (I know because I've rarely ever seen more than 3 tables full in the place and I eat here pretty often) but my husband and I always have the best meals here. The atmosphere is very calm & restful, nice music played low so it's not obnoxious, the staff is always friendly and the prices really aren't that bad for what you're getting. I always get the sushi because it's SO fresh tasting (you gotta try the Smoked Salmon - seriously, it tastes like it was just pulled out of the river and smoked on a campfire!). The eel is also really tasty. My husband loves the yakiniku -- we were here just a few days ago and he said "I could seriously eat this stuff everyday!". Their green tea is fresh brewed, not out of a tea bag like another popular sushi place I tried in town and they have the best green onion & mushroom broth they serve as an appetizer (free with your meal). I've been fighting a pretty bad chest cold this past week and this broth made me feel so much better. Another bonus -- they're a good bit cheaper than Wasabi Sushi downtown (though Wasabi is flavorful as well -- just more expensive).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado Japanese Steak House also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mikado Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.