We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Affordable near Downtown Asheville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean and Affordable near Downtown Asheville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was a good location for us near downtown Asheville. Clean rooms at a reasonable price if you don't want to drop the big bucks at the boutique hotels or Biltmore or Grove Park. Tunnel road is close to all of the Asheville attractions.

Lobby has coffee and cookies. Breakfast would have been good, but they had a tough time keeping up with the guests as most of the food was out for long periods of time. In fact, had to ask for a fork just to eat some of the default items.

But would recommend for the value and cleanliness of the hotel in addition to location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the slow pace of refreshed items at breakfast. It does become pretty hectic some mornings . Guests are very eager to enjoy our large selection of offerings. We have added additional breakfast staff to better keep up. It takes a little more effort to have actual china dishes and silverware but it seems to be worth it. I truly believe the food and the coffee taste better when served that way! Come back soon and let us make you feel right at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    212
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
230
253
32
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have not stayed in too many Country Inn and Suites but this was a very nice one. It is the quietest hotel we have ever stayed at. The complimentary breakfast was complete and above average for this type of hotel. The room was recently refurbished. The only small issue was a musty smell in the bathroom. Otherwise a great stay.


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I appreciate your statement that this was the "QUIETEST" hotel you have ever stayed in. This is one of my most important requirements when traveling! I have read reviews of the much higher priced hotels that had "paperthin walls!". We do also strive to provide a full, hot breakfast with something for everyone. You did notice a slight musty smell in the bathroom. We try to address issues such as that as quickly as possible to prevent furthur damage, so thanks for the info! Please make us your home away from home whenever you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was very impressed with our recent stay at Country Inn & Suites in Asheville on Tunnel Road. Everything was clean and comfortable, and I am very picky about hotels. Our room also had new carpeting. It was also a great value for the price. We will stay again, would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
How wonderful to hear from a "very picky" guest that you would highly recommend our property to anyone. Thank you so much for the nice comments. Cleanliness and comfort are what we are all about. Visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guntersville,AL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great value, close to restaurants, shopping and the Biltmore estate ( less than 10 in away). Hotel is older but appears to be recently renovated. Fresh paint, bedding and carpets. Our room was very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Fresh, baked cookies out every afternoon as well as coffee and tea. Free breakfast included waffles, juices, biscuits, bacon, potatoes and fruit.
We would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are so glad you shared your feelings about your past stay. Yes, the rooms have all been renovated and we are currently redoing all of our common areas to have a modern, fresh look. We will keep the cookies and coffee ready for your return, since you stated that you will "definitely return!".Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The coffee maker was actually in the bathroom on the vanity right beside the toilet! Disgusting! How can management not understand the very serious health problems of food preparation and the toilet 2 feet apart? King suite size is no larger than a regular room. It's just a bed and sofa with a wall between. One very small desk top surface was the only flat surface to hold purse, drink cups, etc and laptop. Guess that all explains why the coffee maker was in the bathroom. I will not recommend this Country Inn and Suites. I will never again stay at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no coffee maker beside the toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Lesia M,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn and Suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute for a weekend getaway. Couldn't have been happier. The hotel is halfway between downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate - very convenient! Rooms seem newly renovated. Very clean! Complimentary breakfast was good. Overall great hotel in a good location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel. We are glad you found us and enjoyed all that we have to offer. We are recently renovated and are continuing the process by giving a "facelift" to our common areas for a fresh look. Please visit us again and let us make you feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We searched all over trip advisor for a great hotel and found this one. Ranked number 7 and it could easily have been ranked higher. The hotel was very nice and had everything I would expect. The biggest part that stuck out was the very,very friendly service given behind the counter. I wish I could remember the young girls name but she could tell you any and everything about Asheville. She could very easily be a tour guide for Asheville.
The only thing I could've asked for was a softer bed but that's a personal preference and is by no means a negative on this hotel. We will probably be returning to Asheville after Thanksgiving and this will be were we stay again.
Thank you to all the staff for making this a terrific stay!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our property and staff. We love to tell you about our town and all the great things to enjoy. Return soon and let us treat you like family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.