We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn & Suites Saved My Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Country Inn & Suites Saved My Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We left Extended Stay and needed a room on the fly. With the last minute reservation, the hotel website actually had the best price. I was surprised, but best price is best price.

The manager was extremely accommodating to our needs. We were able to check in a little earlier so we could shower and go enjoy our first trip to Asheville. The hotel staff were all wonderful. They definitely saved our vacation. The food in the morning was hot and ready (oatmeal/bacon/eggs/waffle maker/juice/coffee/etc & the normal cold items you would expect). The room was clean and everything we would normally expect in a hotel. They did have a pool & small fitness room but we didn't check them out.

Next time we go to Asheville, we already decided to only stay at Country Inn & Suites. We'll plan ahead and look for discounts/coupons since we know where we want to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are please to read your review, and how we saved your vacation. We hope you made it home safely and will come back to stay with us in the near future.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    168
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
196
196
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are looking for a clean,safe,hotel,look no further !!Every inch of this hotel was spotless.Comfortable beds,provided a great night sleep.Followed by a delicious breakfas.All staff we experienced were very friendly and professional.We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are thrilled to read this review, Yes!! Yes!! Yes!!! we do have an excellent team working here. I am glad everything was great during your stay with us.We hope you come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a long weekend planned in advance with my family - for a mini-family reunion in Asheville. Unfortunately, after booking earlier in the month, a family member had a "medical issue" and we had to cancel. The Country Inns & Suites graciously worked with us on rescheduling our trip to later the following month. When we arrived, the desk staff was extremely courteous and helpful (recommending restaurants, local attractions, tours, etc). We followed their advice to the tee - and were very pleased - including dinner one evening at the Grove Park Inn (lovely at sunset).

The rooms were very clean and well appointed (how do they fold those bathroom towels to look like a swan?). The breakfast featured an excellent variety of foods - including fresh fruits with your oatmeal (if you aren't an egg and sausage fan).

I will definitely stay here again - clean, great and accommodating staff, wonderful breakfast, lovely part of the town and great people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are so thrilled to read your review. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us!!!As for the towels when you return we may have to ask our wonderful housekeeping staff to show you how we do them.Have a great weekend. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while touring Asheville and the mountain areas. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and had many choices. Our only minor complaint was the pillows. We prefer foam or more firm. But that is a personal thing and we found everything else at this hotel to be excellent.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We often travel to Asheville and have never been disappointed with a stay at the Tunnel Road Country Inn. The staff is friendly and helpful, beds are very posh and the location provides excellent access to downtown and beyond. My only quibble is with the side entry. It could easily be transformed into an attractive space with some prefab latticework and plants to guide guests to the parking lot while still functioning as a staging area for improvements. Overall this venue presents an superlative value compared to the competition!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Chose this hotel because of my points, but would recommend for cleanliness and convenience-both to Biltmore and downtown Ashville. Great staff-helpful and friendly-gave great restaurant advice! Room very clean and comfy-beds fine and bath roomy. Love this chain-down to earth and affordable for folks who want somewhere to sleep while seeing attractions, etc. I have never been dissapointed with my stays at CI and S!!! Breakfast included and was good-nothing fancy but there was a variety.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor-only one elevator in hotel and it's SLOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Cleanest hotel I have ever been in! The rooms were very clean - absolutely no dust, no strange smells or spots on carpets/walls/etc. The staff and management were also very friendly. The area around the hotel seemed safe and was a great location between the various sites around the area. I would definitely not hesitate to stay here again! Homelike without being home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.