We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, updated hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, updated hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recently renovated. It was clean, beds were comfortable, and staff was great! Stayed on the 3rd floor, which just got new carpets. Mini fridge in room. Has an indoor pool with a hot tub, fitness center, tables in the pool area and outside, and even coin washing machine and dryer. Hot breakfast included. 5 min drive from downtown and restaurants within walking distance. I checked out hotels nearby and this was the best value for the money while still being clean and safe. Would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    171
    41
    17
    5
See reviews for
199
199
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were disappointed in this hotel. It began with the very tricky entrance off Tunnel Rd. The sign was obscured by a tree and we missed the driveway the 1st time. Exiting, we discovered, is much easier and safer if one drives through the Waffle House parking lot than up the steep hill. The hotel itself is tired. While there is some renovation in progress (4th floor carpeting) our room on the 5th floor was tired. The staff was doing their best to be customer friendly and supportive but it's hard to overcome the physical limitations of the facilities. Additionally, using regular dishes rather than paper goods could not make up for the lack luster breakfast food. The burritos had been sitting a little to long in the warming tray and the other offerings were just so so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed overnight on a trip to the biltmore estate. Room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and all amenities were present. Staff was very friendly and check in /check out was effortless. Breakfast provided typical fare in clean and adequate space. Overall we were very satisfied and will use this hotel again if in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very clean, large rooms, comfortable beds, and an incredibly friendly staff. The continental breakfast was delicious as well. The pool and fitness area looked awesome as well, though I didn't get to try them out. I'll definitely be booking here again next time I visit Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks to other strong reviews on TripAdvisor, we chose this little hotel for a one-night stay while passing through the area. The hotel is very modern already, and it appears to be under slight renovation for upgrading again. Our bathroom and room was very clean with lots of extra blankets and pillows provided in the storage area. The layout of the hotel is very visitor-friendly with the pool being in an unobtrusive area that doesn't create too much noise and traffic for those who are not using it. The breakfast was very good with lots of tableware available and the food stations being well-stocked (if you've ever been to a hotel breakfast that wasn't like this, you'll appreciate how important it is). The staff is very friendly and helpful. My spouse liked the cookies in the lobby, and I appreciated the hot coffee when we came in from a rainy night. The location of the hotel is great for travelers and provides quick access to the interstate. Moreover, it is within a five-minute drive of many of the top-rated downtown restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recent Sanitation Score 96.
If this is the 6th-best hotel in Asheville, I wouldn't want to go too much further down the rankings.
Seriously, it's not bad but for the most part it doesn't stand out. While I'm OK giving it a VG rating, it falls in the lower end of the rating.
In it's favor is the relatively quite location below the busy main road, also it's convenience to downtown. As others have noted, the hotel is undergoing renovation (they were working on the 3rd floor when we were there). The public areas appear to have already been finished, as they were very clean and bright.
Our room (511) was clean and acceptable. The small bathroom was the weak link, especially the tub shower with poor nozzle height for a guy who's 6-3.
The breakfast was typical of the County Inns chain.
A big drawback was having only one elevator. I'd hate to be waiting on it when this place is full.
Recommended because I generally like Country Inns, but, when we return to Asheville, we might try their other location.

Room Tip: Very quite up on the 5th floor, especially facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant, comfortable stay at the Country Inn & Suites on Tunnel Road in Asheville. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was good. We can always rely on Country Inn & Suites for a pleasant stay. The only negative aspect was that we wished the bathroom had double sinks, and that the lighting in the livingroom was a little brighter. But overall, it was a good value.
P.S. It is easier to get in and out through the Waffle House parking lot to the west of the hotel -- the hotel's driveway is at the top of a hill and is a bit tricky.

Room Tip: We had a 1-bedroom suite, which separated the bedroom from the livingroom area. We were on the 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Asheville
#11 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.