We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Country Inn & Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Another Great Country Inn & Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the country inn & suites Asheville on Tunnel Rd for the Sunday/Monday of new Years eve 2012-2013 to visit Biltmore Estates and what a pleasure it was! These hotels must be keeping track of their various sites because each one is as great as the rest. We reserved a room but put in a request for a king and were upgraded to a king suite with a pull-out couch. Plenty of room, great price, extremely clean (including nice towel animal and tissue/toilet paper designs). breakfast was wonderful, staff were very friendly and helped with downtown advice and the indoor hottub & pool were amazing in the middle of winter in the mountains. Only 2 miles from downtown asheville and 5 easy miles to Biltmore Estates.Oh and the beds and the climate control were better than home! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    217
    56
    20
    6
See reviews for
236
256
35
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently visited the biltmore estate and stayed at this hotel. Great breakfast, friendly staff. The room we got was a king suite with pull out couch for the kids. Plenty of room with a mini fridge and microwave. Clean and nice room. I would recommend to stay here. Make your own waffle for breakfast, they are great at the complimentary breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We needed a hotel for a midway stop to our final destination. This hotel fit the bill. The large rooms with two queen size beds were great for our family of 4. The continental breakfast was good and the customer service was top notch. The room was clean and the property was maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in Asheville for Christmas at Biltmore. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, the kids had fun in the indoor pool and hot tub, the complimentary hot breakfast bar was delicious (chicken, biscuits & gravy, omelets, etc.), and we all enjoyed the complimentary warm cookies in the lobby. The location was very convenient to shopping and restaurants. If we return to Asheville, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. We stayed from the 23rd till 26th. Good breakfast options, quite, clean rooms. Staff are super helpful and courteous. An easy location to all of the main attractions in ASHEVILLE.

Would definite recommend. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We made a 1 night trip to Asheville and stayed here. It's right off I-26 and very convenient to Biltmore and Downtown. The breakfast is free and very nice. The hotel is a great value and the staff was very helpful. There is an Ingles (grocery store) within walking distance (100 yds) in case you want some snacks or forgot toiletry items.

My only complaint is no grits in the breakfast buffet, but they did have oatmeal. Isn't Asheville in the South?

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We visited Asheville, NC for the first time this past weekend to go to The Biltmore for Christmas. This hotel was perfect. Reasonably priced for families, close to everything including The Biltmore (5 minute drive), downtown and the interstate. We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. Staff was helpful and friendly.

The game changer is the breakfast. One of the best I've had. Rivals Hampton Inn's breakfast that I love. Had omelets, waffles, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, bacon and biscuits with gravy plus 4 coffee options.

Hot tea and coffee available when you get there.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th Floor. Keeps you away from any possible noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#15 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.