We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY-LOVED IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY-LOVED IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very convenient to Biltmore Village & the Biltmore it's self, as well as restaurants & shopping. Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were great, rooms clean, pool area very nice...Free breakfast was delicious. Staff very helpful...I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Asheville for a visit...Price was perfect as well

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    171
    41
    17
    5
See reviews for
199
199
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had never stayed at a country inn before but stopped at this property traveling back to WI from SC. We are a family of five and found the room to be very large with more than enough room for an 11 year old on an air mattress. The decor is of course "country-ish" and while our daughter prefers something more contemporary, it was very clean. We were also pleasantly surprised with the breakfast. It included oatmeal with fresh fruit, chocolate chips, etc., several brands of yogurt and the regular fare of microwaved eggs and waffles. The breakfast area looks over the pool area and we let the kids swim a little in the morning before hitting the road. We booked through a third-party site and got a great rate which makes us like everything even more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

great value. staff was very polite and helpful. rooms were large and very clean. bed was incredibly comfortable and pillows were perfect. I loved the "luxury" hotel touch of folding towels into swans! Will definitely stay there in upcoming trips fo robustness or personal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent two nights at your Inn and were pleasantly surprised. I can be a picky guest if rooms aren't clean or if items in the room aren't working properly. Nice large flat screen TV's and nice hotel atmosphere and very clean rooms. My daughter loved the indoor pool and we enjoyed the jacuzzi and nice supply of soft regular sized towels! The hot breakfast had a good selection of items and also liked the free newspaper. The staff was pleasant and informative about surrounding activities. Appreciated the large selection of pamphlets and surrounding area activity nformation. Fresh cookies, coffee and tea in the lobby a plus. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Asheville. Thank you for doing such a good job.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the King one bedroom suite, which provided privacy for us and my daughter had her own spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute (I've stayed in Country Inn's before and like them). The price was decent and the staff was helpful and friendly. I know there are a lot of high ratings for their cleanliness and overall, it wasn't bad. But compared to the hotel we had come from the night before, it was mediocre. There was a strong, musty smell in the room, which didn't help our allergies. However, the breakfast was fabulous! They offered a variety of good choices and we never had to have lunch because we ate fruit, yogurt, eggs and other great stuff from the continental breakfast. The location of the hotel is in close proximity to downtown Asheville, Biltmore, the mall (behind it!) and right off the highway, so it's easy to get to places. Hendersonville, Weaverville - also close by. Not to mention the Blue Ridge Parkway for a must-do drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a last minute business trip for my husband so I decided to tag along with our 2 year old daughter for 2 nights. We usually stay at the Residences but they were over $250/night and I knew we would not be in our room too much between exploring and my husband doing business. We choose this hotel based on location to the Asheville Mall with wanting to take our daughter trick or treating since we were staying over Halloween. The hotel was great and the employees were so friendly. Breakfast was fresh with so many choices and great coffee. We did miss a coffee table in our suite so we moved the end table in front of the couch and the room was extremely warm so we had the air conditioning on in the winter but it made the temperature more comfortable. The real reason I wanted to praise this hotel is my husband somehow forgot his phone in the room and by the time he realized, we were too far to go back. He called the hotel and they said they would mail it to us and just charge the credit card on file. He ran to get another phone when we got home. Little did we know, his phone showed up the next afternoon. Now that's service! They must of got the phone to UPS that same day, we were so thankful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a great location to stay at - close to the Biltmore - 5 minutes away and close to shops and eateries. We stayed here for a getaway for our pre-anniversary of 2 years and it was nice. The hotel staff was friendly, gave great directions to Biltmore and the breakfast included hot ingredients including making your own waffles and omlette's:-) Although tunnel road was very busy -we stayed on a Saturday night, my only suggestion for this hotel is to ensure they include on the sign off the highway where they are located as we did get a little lost coming for the Raleigh-Durham area. Other than that, we had a great time! (The room was clean, bed very comfortable,bathroom was very clean and nice and we even had a voicemail message from the General manager advising to call if the room wasn't up to our expectations, now that is customer service!)

Room Tip: When traveling in the fall/winter, adjust the temperature in your room to 70 degrees - it may seem l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road

Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Asheville
#11 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.