We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   890 Brevard Road, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
garner nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Good place to stay the night. Very clean room. Employees very courteous and helpful.
Excellent location. Eateries close.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank You for sharing your good experience. It is very important to us that we exceed every guests expectation in value and quality of product and service. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff, as they will be thrilled to hear such kind words from one of our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    154
    58
    23
    25
See reviews for
129
132
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield Glade
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I would only rate this hotel average at best. The bathroom was very small and the room was tight. The best feature was that it was quiet, the wireless internet worked wonderful, the A/C worked great and the breakfast was hot and plentiful. Heck, for $72 a night I really shouldn't complain. Eat at Harbor Seafood next door for a good meal, but stay away from the clams, too rubbery.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to submit a response. I appreciate your comments. I am sorry that you found the bathroom to be small but I am glad that you also found several good points in your stay with the A/C, full, hot breakfast & complimentary wireless internet. We strive to be a good value for our guests. Please stay with us again the next time you are in Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHMOND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We obtained this hotel for 3 nights through Priceline at $40 a night. With breakfast and wifi included, we felt that this was a steal. Our room was exceptionally clean and quiet (top floor). Breakfast was really good (and free) with a wide variety. The dining area was a bit small, but if it was crowded, no problem, we just took it up to our room. Dining area attendants were always very helpful/friendly and kept the room clean.
The hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the Biltmore or downtown. There are plenty of reasonable, family friendly restaurants within walking distance including a seafood right in front of the hotel and a really good Mexican restaurant behind the hotel. Some people were moaning that the elevators were slow, no problem, just walk past the fat lazy people waiting and take the stairs.

Our only complaint was the service of one of the morning front desk managers. The hotel is an obvious partner with the Biltmore. There are ads and placards throughout the hotel and in the rooms promoting the Biltmore and discount tickets . The room keys even have a photo of the Biltmore saying "Buy your discount tickets from us". We went to the front desk first thing in the morning to buy tickets and then go (was told the night before they will have them in the morn as they were locked up for the night) but the desk mgr. said that they had no tix? She then said they have them but they are locked up and won't have the key until the afternoon? Ok, should we just wait 5 hours? She really didn't seem to care, said she could do nothing else then went back chatting with the other desk person. I went to our room, made one call to the Biltmore # on the desk placard ad. In under two minutes I had the two discount tix at will call. The Biltmore ticketing folks were very surprised to learn they had no tix but even more embarrassed that the hotel mgr. had not the common sense to call the ticketing office, and that a guest had to do her job for her.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Manager at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
THANK YOU for staying with us at the Comfort Suites Biltmore, Asheville, NC. The staff and management of the hotel enjoy pleasing our guests and exceeding their expectations. The hotel is so conveniently placed and since we are only 1 mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway, 10 minutes to Biltmore and just 7 minutes to downtown Asheville we feel we are in the prime location for a great stay for our travelers.
I am sorry to hear that we were out of Biltmore tickets during your stay. We do partner with Biltmore to offer discounted tickets to our guests & due to their popularity sometimes we do run out. This is a special ammenity that we offer to our guests & cannot guarantee their availability. I regret that the Front Desk agent did not think to call Biltmore Estate for you. This is something that we have addressed with our staff so that they are better trained in case this happens in the future. We hope that you will stay with us again during your next trip to Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

stayed here on the way to Hilton Head Island. Old hotel that has been updated. Breakfast area is way too small - what a soo.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Management at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
THANK YOU for your comments. We appreciate you staying at the Comfort Suites Biltmore. We recently underwent an extensive renovation and appreciate you recognizing the quality of our finished product. We value our guests input and will look into some ways to increase seating in our breakfast area. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Asheville. Crystal Camacho, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Stayed here for one night after hunting for reasonably priced accomodation nearby to Asheville centre.
Hotel happened to be directly opposite the mall (but wasn't there for shopping)

Room was lovely, spacious and beds very comfortable.
Pool was open late. It's very small but was great to chill out.
Didn't try the breakfast here so can't comment on that.

Travel to/from Asheville centre was very quick at approx 10mins outside rush hour.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

We stayed here the middle of October, high season for the area. The hotel was very comfortable; you could see that the rooms had recently been remodeled. Everything was nicely decorated and freshly painted.

I would agree with the other reviewers that had problems because of the lack of elevators and the way-too-small- breakfast room, so if you stay here bring a little patience.

We were a bit surprised at the shower enclosure. The seams were poorly grouted and the shelves had obviously already fallen off in the corner. The hotel should get their money back from the construction firm for that!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We just returned from a visit to Asheville where we spent several nights at the Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall. Our stay was completely satisfactory. The rooms were spacious, very clean, and staff was most helpful.

The hotel could use a second elevator and larger breakfast room during peak periods, but we didn't have any real problems on this account. Above all, the price for our king-bed suite was more than reasonable.

I didn't plan to write a review, but when I saw a negative review which complained about bad treatment from management I couldn't help but write a response. Since my retirement we travel a great deal. I know good and/or bad management, and I was reminded of the Innkeepers dilemma. People that write bad reviews and/or express strong negative views on a hotel are only telling one side (their side) of the story. The management we met at this hotel was professional and trying hard to serve their customers. Many Many hotel operators simply don't respond to any violations of property rules. There is no smoking in these rooms..guests know it..and unless management responds the rules are constantly violated.

Give me a responsive manager anytime.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only 1 elevator for 5 story hotel.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall

Address: 890 Brevard Road, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites hotel near Biltmore. Discount Biltmore tickets sold! Free full hot breakfast and newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Comfort Suites Asheville
Asheville Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.