We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   890 Brevard Road, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Graham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at my first Comfort Suites with this business trip. I was surprised to learn that the "Suites" means a studio suite. This property does not have a mini-kitchen as do other "home" style brands-Homewood Suites, Staybridge Suites. The room and building were very clean and comfortable. My wife commented that the sheets stayed on the bed instead of coming undone. They do accept pets for a small fee. Great price. We were going to stay at the Hotel Indigo (IGH), but there was no reason, for this trip, to spend 40% more for the Indigo. This place fit our needs for this trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    131
    47
    22
    23
See reviews for
111
112
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for one night traveling to savannah. We arrived about 10 am and decided to check and see if our room was ready as we drove all night from upper michigan. They checked us in and our room was on the fifth floor and quite nice. Our plan was to get some rest but could not help ourselves and had to go explore asheville. We had a good day and came back about 5 pm to just kick back. The room was good size and very clean, the reviews are right about the evevator taking forever but that did not impact us as we are walkers so we always take the stairs whenever we can. The breakfast was very good I'm always pleased when I can find fruit and yogurt on a hotel breakfast. The only thing I would comment on is if you think your going to do the mall next door forget it is't closed. Maybe one store is open but that did not matter to us. This is a really nice hotel with a good staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for a great review! We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. The Biltmore Square Mall is in the process of closing so they can renovate to an upscale Outlet Mall. We are excited for this change and expect it to re-open next fall/winter. We hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The lobby and rooms were clean and were about what one would expect for this level of hotel. Nothing great, but nothing terrible either. The beds seemed to be smaller than usual and weren't very comfortable, I guess about average pretty well covers the whole place. Probably the most negative thing is the fact that The area surrounding the property seems to be in decline. Biltmore Square Mall is nearly empty and the area near the hotel is rather sketchy. I would stay again, but would rather be downtown or at one of Asheville's B&B's.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean. The Biltmore Square Mall is getting ready to close for renovations and will re-open as an upscale Outlet Mall. We can't wait for that! We hope that you will come stay with us again and you can shop 'til you drop!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel, about what you'd expect from a 3-star level property. The only gripe I have is the price. We stayed at the end of October during the peak of leaf peeking season, and I got a feeling the rates are at least double of what they charge in the off-season. Oh well, what can we say? It's capitalism hard at work.

We had a double room on the 2nd floor. The room is decently sized, but both the room and hallway could use a renovation. The decor's color tend to be cool and the use of compact flourscent light (good for them!) made the property seem less inviting than it could be. Note to management: You know there are different "shades" of white for those lights? Pick a warmer white. At least the room was clean with plenty of towels for two and beds were comfortable.

The property only has one elevator. Not an issue when we checked-in at a rather late hour of 9pm. The next morning there was always a crowd waiting for elevator at the lobby level. We used the stairs instead (since we were on 2nd floor) when we went to get breakfast and check out.

Talking about breakfast, it's nothing to write home about. It's your typical, corporate-run, microwaved eggs, sausages and etc. There were couple waffle irons though if you like make-your-own-waffles. Besides those are some store-bought, or corporate supplied, pastries and yogurts. Just be prepared to face the crowds, or take something and go back to your room.

So will I stay here again? That depends on what season it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and stocked well with towels. We will look into the different shades of bulbs. Thanks for that suggestion. We are currently updating our bedding to a white decorative top sheet with a red scarf (that should brighten up the room as well). We apologize that the rates were higher due to our busy season. Our rates are based on supply and demand and when everyone wants to come to Asheville our rates do increase. As you can imagine our rates our lower in January, February & March. That is our off-season. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's reasonable price for an Asheville property and, with 2 adults and a 12-year old, a partially divided room is a plus. It's a little hard to find as it's perhaps 1/2 off the highway adjacent to the mall and there is no direct entrance - turn into the mall by the seafood restaurant and the entrance is on the right. As we discovered, the location has its benefits. It is a short drive south to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Brevard is a good alternate route to I26 for travel to downtown.

The lobby and common areas were fine for a mid-price hotel and were clean and in good condition. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful So far, so good.

Our room was a king with a sleeper sofa, microwave and mini fridge on the 5th floor. With a nice sized flat screen tv, a computer desk, an armchair, and plenty of linens, it was perfectly acceptable for its class, although there was a slight musty odor to the room. At least, until time for bed. We went to make up the sleeper sofa for our child and discovered a very stained (is that blood? Urine?) and worn mattress. We thought to flip it over, but my spouse took one look and said no. It was late, so we checked for moisture and odor and convinced our 12-year old fan of Hotel Impossible to sleep on it. Reluctantly. The only other problem was that the hotel has extremely bright lights illuminating the hotel, and our room was directly in line with one. It was blinding and we had to rummage through all of our gear for paperclips, safety pins, anything that would help keep the drapes closed.

It was prime leaf season and the hotel was fully booked. The complimentary breakfast was mobbed from open to close. The offerings were what seems to have become the industry standard (and problem) for those touting a free breakfast - scambled egg patties and sausage, a waffle iron, prepackaged pastries and bread items, yogurt, a couple of cereals, etc from the corporate supplier. I never went down, but spouse was kind enough to bring up some coffee, juice, yogurts, and a few samples of other offerings the first morning. The second, we avoided it altogether and went a few doors down to the Waffle House. Inexpensive and they do have good waffles.

I'm giving the hotel the benefit of the doubt in my rating. Except for the sofa bed, everything did seem well cared for and the tv and appliances were great. Perhaps our room was the exception. I'd ask for a room away from the lights and check any sleeper sofas ASAP.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry that the sofa mattress was stained. We will have that replace immediately. The black out drapes are located behind the set of sheer drapes and should close completely to block out any light. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we may have the chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed one night after driving down the Blue Ridge Parkway before driving home to northern Virginia. Very good hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable, but the HVAC unit was very noisey even on the "Lo Heat" mode, as many units of this type are in hotels. (Below the window unit)

One nice positive note, their wide screen TVs actually get true HD signals and I was able to watch the second World Series game in HD in my hotel room.

Hot breakfast was just average - and their seating area was very crowded with people waiting to sit down. For the size of the hotel, the breakfast area should be larger.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel was our 2nd stop on our week long road trip. We checked in (the front desk lady was very nice)...went up to our room...the key did not work! My hubby went back to the front desk..I was waiting in the hall by the door to our assigned room, when I heard what sounded like a toilet flushing...hmmm. Then the door opened and a young man wearing a work uniform came out...I thought perhaps he was finishing cleaning the room (it was 3:45 pm) but then I noticed a young lady coming out of the room...looked to me like they were having a little afternoon delight...I was a bit suprised and so were they...I asked who they were, they mumbled their names, rushed by me and ran down the stairs...my husband came back with a new key...I told him the story...we went back down to the front desk...front desk staff apologized...gave us a different room for the same price. This property was located conveniently (about 3-4 miles) from the Biltmore Estate and it is located near a mall. We ate both nights at the Stone Ridge Tavern which is across the street from this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We apologize that someone was in the first room you checked into. All of our staff is aware that they are not to be in guest rooms unauthorized and we will be certain that this does not happen in the future. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient. We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall

Address: 890 Brevard Road, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#25 Family Hotel in Asheville
#29 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites hotel near Biltmore. Discount Biltmore tickets sold! Free full hot breakfast and newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Comfort Suites Asheville
Asheville Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.