We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enter at your own risk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Asheville Southeast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Asheville Southeast to your Saves list
Ramada Asheville Southeast
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 River Ford Parkway, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #46 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enter at your own risk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were meeting a group of friends for our yearly reunion. One of our friends had made reservations at this Ramada, so we booked a room for two nights as well, so that we could all be in the same location. The first impression of the lobby was not encouraging. A handwritten sign on the counter stated that a $75.00 charge would be imposed for smoking in non-smoking rooms. As we had requested a non-smoking room, this gave me a sense of foreboding. neither keycard worked, so back we went to the lobby. Upon finally entering the room, we were overwhelmed by a strong odor of cigarette smoke. When we called the front desk, we were told that we could not be moved to a different room, but if we could leave the room for an hour, the room would be "treated" to remove the odor. When we we ready to go out for the hour, the employee who brought the equipment to the room told us we needed to be gone only 15 minutes for the ozone treatment. We decided to compromise and leave for about a half hour. On our return, the odor was almost gone,a and the hour being late, we went to sleep. The next morning it was just as bad, and we could not cancel our second night.

As for the breakfast, the choices were few, and several people commented that the sausage gravy smelled like Alpo.

The outside doors to the buildings are not locked at night and there is inadequate lighting in the parking lots.

Carpet throughout the rooms and hallways is dirty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
When apologize for the smoking room experience, however, if you booked on line, at a reduced rate and the reservation came to us as smoking room, we can do little to assist you when we are sold out and we were on every weekend in October. We appreciate your review and hope you will come back and visit with us again. Thank you for taking a moment of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    163
    162
    113
    104
See reviews for
235
231
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This motel has 3 levels but no elevator; however, you can enter the building on the 2nd level, which entails negotiating just one flight of stairs with your suitcase in hand. Our room had seen better days. The wallpaper was splitting apart at the seams; the bathroom was clean enough, but with amateur caulking and cracked tile floors; the a/c was exceptionally noisy, and the TV was an object left over from a previous century. Overall the place seems rather tired looking, and the decor appears to have been orchestrated by a design school dropout. Nevertheless, during leaf-peeper season, it was full to the brim. If they can do that kind of business, there's not much incentive to upgrade the place.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
This winter we are in the process of painting all of our rooms.... news roof... new phone system and many other renovations. It is true ,we are a very busy property , we want to stay that way and hope you will give us another try if you are in the Asheville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I went on a Fall tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway and had booked ahead to stay at the Ramada River Ridge in Asheville NC as the other hotels were fully booked.
It was the WORST hotel we have EVER stayed in.

Walking toward the front door I saw a guest surfing the internet right Next to the main entrance in a crammed space without any privacy - wonder if that was the business center.
I realized that the owner had not even bothered to install an automatic door for the main entrance. You gotta put your luggage down and manually push the door open and quickly gather your things before the door slams back at you.
Don't expect a welcome smile at check in. Be prepared to be greeted by a curt matter of fact kind of staff who won't even bother making eye contact because you're just a reservation number his computer.

The hotel room looked like it had Never been updated from the 70ies. The moment we walked in, the room smelt mouldy, to the extent that I started sneezing and had to take an anti histamine. The carpets were Dark in color so you wouldn't be able to guess it's age and it smelled too. The sheets were yellowish and thin from being worn out. No fridge, No microwave. Old noisy air conditioning.

We got a View of our car in the parking lot. This hotel paints a beautiful picture on it's website saying that 'Our Ramada Asheville hotel is ideally located in a beautiful mountain area, situated on seven acres of rolling hills with some of the best mountain views in Asheville.' !!! Well, you gotta experience the Ramada Inn in Asheville yourselves to understand that it's not what it claims to be.

The bathroom sink had many cracks in it around the area where the water drained. It was obvious that the bathtub was a job done more for aesthetics than function as it was a new plastic tub fitted to an old rundown wall. The owner didn't even bother to change the 70ies wallpaper in the bathroom. The tub was very slow to drain bath water.

I slept with a towel on my face to drown the smells of our 'non smoking' room.
In the morning you awaken to the chattering of housekeeping staff, but then again did I mention that the doors are paper thin.
We didn't even stay for breakfast in the morning - just got up, showered and ran out as fast as we could.

As for price, we did pick one of the busiest weekends in October so we paid about USD 120. We had No choice as there were no other available hotels at peak fall season in downtown Asheville. However, I wouldn't pay even 50 bucks for this place on a normal day.
There are other Motels out there that are in better shape than this Hotel.

I am So surprised that this hotel is still in business. I don't understand how people are still staying at this place. I don't believe the owner is running at a loss and cannot afford to update and renovate this hotel because it was a Full House weekend when we checked in.
The only reason I could imagine is the hotels proximity to the highway and being in downtown Asheville. Well if Location is your Only criteria, then this is the place for you.

Even if (and I am not sure) the Ramada River Ridge is a personally owned hotel, it's still a part of the Wyndham hotel chain and at this point I only have one thing to say - Never again another Ramada anywhere for us. We rather sleep in our car.
As a Trip Advisor member, I think that we deserve Quality for each dollar spent.
My husband and I have stayed in Many hotel Brand wise from 3 stars to 5 stars and we know what to expect from them and personally never found an experience so bad worth complaining about but This Ramada River Ridge hotel experience compelled me to warn others.
To the hotel management - Please don't take us consumers for a ride.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We are sorry your experience was less than what you expected. We have been completely sold out for several weeks and the hotel is very busy. Sometimes the staff does get worn down during these busy times. We are a limited service property, we do not advertise otherwise. I know you will not be coming back to stay at this property, however, thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed at the Ramada on October 7 for a show at the Civic Center. It is very close to downtown. The location is a little tricky, and in the rear of a shopping center (AC Moore, Hancock Fabrics, CVS) but there are signs posted as soon as you get off the exit.
When we arrived, check in was a snap.
The room was definitely dated, but the bed was THE BEST HOTEL BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN! We stayed in a King Suite (258) and it was very roomy! There was a balcony with a table and two chairs. The jacuzzi tub was awesome, too, plenty big and could you believe that there was hot water the whole time! The couch was a little hard, but we just hung out in there as we ate a late night snack.
There is a McD's, KFC and a J & S Cafeteria in the parking lot of the shopping center. The only thing that was open to get some late night bites around the area after 11p.m. was the Pizza Hut in the Bi-Lo shopping area about a half mile away. There is a Walmart in the area, but it is very hidden...ask someone to give you directions.
The breakfast was pretty good as well. The breakfast attendants were SO NICE! There was a gentleman there who was a really kind soul. It made my day start of fantastically!
TWO THUMBS UP!

Room Tip: Building F was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We appreciate your kind review and for taking the time to write it. We are always working to make the Asheville Ramada at River Ridge a clean comfortable and affordable place to stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The online "Biltmore Estate Getaway Package" is listed at $239.99 + tax and includes, among other things, 2 night's accommodations at the hotel. When you call, the "package" does not include 2 night's accommodations-- it costs $239.99 per night. What happened to truth in advertising? We'll stay somewhere else.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking a minute to write this review. I am not too sure where you got your information, the Biltmore Estate Getaway Package is a total of $239.99 + tax for two nights accomodation, two full access tickets to Biltmore Estate and a hot breakfast for two each morning. Sunday thru Thursday. The price for the package on Friday & Saturday stays is $259.99+ tax. Please call the hotel if you would like to make a booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Ramada Inn in Asheville is very nice and convenient to the restaurants and mall nearby. The room was clean and functional. The hotel staff was very nice. We might stay there again next time in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking a minute to write a review. We are constantly upgrading our property to make it a clean comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay. The rooms are all being repainted at the moment and we will be doing additional upgrades throughout the winter.
Come back and see us and the beautiful Asheville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Fridge and microwave in room. - No lift (3 floors), dirty staircase. - In outbuilding no card needed to get in and chain in my room broken. - Not all what I'm used from the Ramada hotels.

Room Tip: To feel saver: main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We appreciate you writing down your comments. We do not have elevators, however we do have over 60 walk in level rooms. ( Just ask) Over 90% of our rooms have micro waves and refrigerators. If there was not one in your room, we would gladly have accomodated your request. ( Just ask). These requests are best made at the time you are reserving the room to avoid any mis- communication. Please consider us again for your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Asheville Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Asheville Southeast

Address: 148 River Ford Parkway, Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Asheville Southeast 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Asheville Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Asheville Hotel Asheville
Asheville Ramada Inn
Ramada Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Asheville Southeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.