We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Sublime Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beaufort House Inn to your Saves list
Beaufort House Inn
61 North Liberty Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
“Delightful and Sublime Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Beaufort House Inn is an immaculate, spacious, tasteful, and elegant Victorian home with lush landscaping. The innkeepers, Chris and Jim Muth, and their excellent staff are welcoming, caring and extremely knowledgable about Asheville and all that the surrounding areas have to offer. Breakfast is a treat for the eyes and palate, prepared daily by the innkeepers. Chris, a masterful chef, grows her own herbs on site and lovingly prepares delicious, healthy, sweet and savory breakfasts. We couldn't have been more pleased with our room! The bed and bedding was more luxurious and comfortable than what we'd experienced at the W Hotel in Atlanta. We'll be Beaufort House Inn ambassadors forever. It's absolutely the ultimate getaway!

Room Tip: The Arbor Room is private, spacious, luxurious and has a gas fireplace. Accompanying the room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    43
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
489
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After lots of research for a very special romantic get-away to Asheville we reserved three nights here. We arrived early and were warmly greeted by the inn's manager, Erica. She provided a map, "locals" suggestions, and even a safe walking route to downtown, only 10 minutes away. The inn is easily located on a quiet street. It is two short blocks to walk to Trader Joe’s, Harris Teeter, and a new Whole Foods Market (all three within 100 feet of each other).

When we returned for check-in the cottage we reserved was not immediately available due to some work being done. The inn owner, Chris, immediately moved us to the Arbor Room. The gesture itself was more than what was expected. To our delight the Arbor Room was amazing!!! The room is spacious and well appointed. The luxuriously soft linens are of the quality we have only experienced at the Four Seasons. A bright equally spacious on-suite has a two person jetted tub large enough to fully stretch out after a long day touring the Biltmore. Unique to the Arbor Room is a private entrance and private deck where guests staying in that room can sit and enjoy their own breakfast seating. Guest rooms are stocked with a full compliment of Aveda products along with soft his and her waffle robes.

We enjoyed a complimentary late afternoon wine and beer service on the large covered front porch with rocking chairs and a porch swing. The first night we had a small wine and cheese plate while watching the rain. It was a calm and romantic beginning to our stay.

The two-course breakfast is an event in itself. Keeping with what has attracted many foodies to Asheville, many of the ingredients are from local farms and Chris’ herb garden. Menus alternate daily between sweet and savory. Guests should be aware there is only one 9:00am breakfast seating. Take this into account when scheduling activities like touring the Biltmore, which also opens at 9:00am.

We have stayed at many B&B’s over the years. Beaufort House blends the historical beauty of a Victorian Inn with the eclectic atmosphere of Asheville. This balance could not be achieved without the inviting warmth and friendliness of the owners Jim and Chris. By the end of our stay they made us feel more like friends than guests.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we booked a return trip to the Beaufort House Inn for the fall.

Room Tip: Cottages are detached from the main house. There are many lovely rooms in the house that offer equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I celebrated our 1-yr anniversary here and I couldn't have been more pleased. Jim and Chris were the best proprietors of a B&B that I've ever met. I can't say enough about this place. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy; the wine hour was fantastic; the fact that there was complimentary wine at all hours in the kitchen was appreciated by my girlfriend; the large porch, tree swing, and yard games were a nice way to relax; it's a very short walk to city center; and the rooms are comfortable and romantic (especially the suites). I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I can't stop raving about this place in my head. I have no words to describe how wonderful and well worth it it was. We spent 3 nights in the Sarah Davidson suite, on the very top floor, and it was heavenly. So instead of trying to wax poetic, I'll just come right out and list some of the wonderful points that I want all prospective guests to know about, in order of importance to me:

1. Extremely clean, well run, lovingly and well kept. The beds were so very comfortable, towels were even thicker and softer than the Hilton and Marriot ones, water pressure in the shower was actually good.

2. Complimentary, 24 hour access to kitchen (no cooking or washing though) and other goodies: Keurig coffees, teas, hot chocolate, chocolate chip cookies, apples, bottle water, and yes, beer too. We didn't touch the beers, but helped ourselves generously to the cookies, apples, and orange juice. Every morning there was fresh brewed coffee and the day's newspaper on the table.

3. Historical Victorian home that has been lovingly maintained and tastefully decorated and despite the renovations, it still has some of its quirks, from the doors that don't quite fit their jam to the slightly uneven worn floor boards, this house speaks of history and beauty. You can tell that the owners take pride in their property and are very caring people and the staff was great. Thanks Stephanie for waiting for us to arrive and Erica for calling to see if we were okay. It was great coming back to the inn after a hard day of sight seeing, seeing a staff member still there making sure that guests are comfortable, being able to relax with a cup of coffee and my choice of dvds, books, TV, or WiFi.

4. Breakfast was fancy, usually a fruit of some kind and then another course of something else. For our stay we had walnuts and croissant, a cheese quiche with 2 different types of basil (grown on property), all yum.

5. We stayed in the Sarah Davidson suite and loved it, but here are some tips. It is on the third floor and you will have to walk. Because it's on the third floor and this is a Victorian style house, the ceiling slopes and if you're taller than 5 feet 5 inches, you might feel claustrophobic. This is most keenly felt in the shower stall and jacuzzi. The tallest person in my group is only 5 feet 3 three inches, so none of us had any problems, although a few times, when not paying attention, I did walk into the sloped ceiling.

If ever in Asheville again, we will definitely stay here. This was time and money well spent and totally worth it.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This victorian home is simply gorgeous! You are made to feel so very welcome from the moment you arrive. We have stayed in bed and breakfast inns where you only really feel welcome and comfortable in your room. Here you feel like an honored guest. We spent one day mostly taking it easy on the peaceful front porch, in the living room and on the deck of our room. It was just so peaceful. We loved the evening wine and enjoyed sitting on the front porch talking with other couples. My husband was really pleased that they also had good beer available. There were also fresh baked cookies in the kitchen. Breakfast was awesome. We had an delicious lemon cake and a three cheese quiche with fresh herbs one morning and it was wonderful. Of course there was also juice and really good coffee. Even the bath products were great quality. The owners (Jim and Christina) are so friendly. The lady that checked us in was exceptional. She drew us directions and told about several restaurants and went out of her way confirming reservations for another couple. Christina also helped with directions and recommendations. Every single detail is handled to make you feel special, welcome and you really feel as though you have met new special friends. This was absolutely our favorite stay ever in a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I splurged on a one-night stay at the Beaufort House and it was well worth the money! The couple that owns the place are extremely friendly and accommodating, and you can tell they put a lot of love and care into their B&B. Outstanding service, very clean, delicious breakfast, and beautiful property! They even have an "open kitchen" that is constantly stocked with fresh chocolate chip cookies and other treats that guests can access at any time. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Beaufort House Inn for one night and it was our first time staying at a B&B so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was wonderful. We stayed in the Rose Room and it was beautiful! The bathroom was huge with a gorgeous claw-foot bathtub, and the bed was very comfortable. Unexpectedly, we ended up realizing that we would not arrive until after 8pm and that the desk would not be staffed when we got there. When I called to let them know, they were very gracious and let us know what to do when we arrived. They also gave us lots of information on things to do and places to eat in Asheville. Breakfast at the inn was a tasty yogourt parfait and waffles. Oh, so good! One night was not enough to enjoy the Beaufort House Inn and to explore Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 3,031 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#11 of 41 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Albemarle Inn
#23 of 41 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Address: 61 North Liberty Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Beaufort House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.