We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jewel of Asheville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Save
You added Beaufort House Inn to your Saves list
61 North Liberty Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“jewel of Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while I was home on leave. Beautiful and fantastic historic home. We stayed in the home, on the top floor suite. Guests were great, food and hosts were great. It's also close enough to walk downtown if you are so inclinced

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
438
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

So if you close your eyes and picture what you think a bed and breakfast should look like, the Beaufort House should be what you picture in your mind. It is a big home built around the beginning of the 1900s or so. I can only comment on our room since I didn't see the others, but it was great...good size (we had a king bed) with a flat screen TV, great bathroom with plenty of shower pressure, and SUPER quiet!!! Another thing we noticed was that the floors didn't sqeek at all like many older homes with hardwood floors. We were there over Labor Day Weekend and they were fully booked, but we never heard from any of the other guest coming and going, closing doors, etc.

The location is also very nice. They told us that it was about a 15 minute walk down to the "cool area" of downtown Asheville, but my wife and I walked it at a brisk walk and we made it in 9 minutes. So I would say that it is a 15 minute "easy" walk or a ten minute brisk walk. It's close enough that it is accessible without having to drive yet far enough away you don't get any of the noise from the downtown area.

The owners, Jim & Christina Muth, are super nice and they also have someone at the desk during the main hours if there is anything. While they don't maintain the desk 24 hours (I'm not sure many B&Bs do) but Erica, a staff member, lives on the property, so if something comes up (i.e. you lock yourself out or there is something wrong with your room) she can be reached. Also, Jim and Christina provide their phone number if you need them.

The one thing that may be good to know is about their breakfast. Unlike some B&Bs that serve breakfast during a window of something like 7:00-10:00, the Beaufort has a single seating at 9:00. The upside to this is that you get to meet all the other guest and chat during breakfast, but the downside is that you do not have an option of when you might have breakfast. It really wasn't an issue for us other than that we had a 7+ hour drive home and we probably would have like to eat a little earlier to hit the road. I understand the logic of Jim and Christina to only have to serve breakfast at one time and not have to spend have the day waiting for people to eat, but it is something to consider if that does not work for your schedule.

The breakfasts were great. Jim and Christina personally make everything fresh and many of the ingredients are out of their garden. The quality was outstanding!!! Just one thing from a personal preference. First, I like some sort of meat for breakfast...ham, bacon sausage...you get the idea. The three breakfasts we had were: a) yogart parfeit and waffles, b) vegetable frittata with potatoes, and c) yogart parfeit with banana French toast made with a crossaint. They did have a couple of small pieces of crispy backon with the French toast, but just a bite or two. So, again, this is just my personal preference, but I would have liked to have an option of "would you like some sausage with your waffle" or "would you like the ham and vegetable frittata or the vegetarian?"

Again, the breakfasts were great, but I like to always try to think of something to say other than just rave how great they were. So that's the best I can do to try and find something to comment on than the glowing praise that they deserve. When we return to Asheville, we will definitely stay at the Beaufort House Inn.

Oh, and Ashville is a fun place...especially if you like micro-beers and the Biltmore is amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I visited Asheville for the first time this year and decided to choose the Beaufort House Inn as the place to stay, while enjoying everything the city has to offer. Asheville itself is very beautiful and the Beaufort House Inn was nothing short of spectacular. It is located about 5 minutes away from the city which made things very easy for traveling to different places or even walking. When first driving up to the house you can tell how nice and well kept everything is on the outside. When you first walk in you begin to realize how special this historic house really is. The staff is absolutely wonderful and the Inn Keepers Kim and Christina are just two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They really do go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a pleasant and wonderful one. The rooms themselves are in fantastic shape and extremely clean and well kept. When waking up in the morning for breakfast the smell of the kitchen hits you as you walk downstairs. The staff and Inn Keepers greet you with some coffee or tea followed by a wonderful breakfast that not only tasted great but was presented well. I cannot say enough about how well prepared the breakfast was during my staff for a few days. The food was absolutely incredible and fresh with healthy ingredients. The breakfast really was the highlight of the stay for me. Besides the food one of the more enjoyable experiences is to just relax on the porch in one of their many rocking chairs or swings. Overall I would choose the Beaufort House Inn each time I visit Asheville. The house and rooms are beautiful and the staff was extremely nice and welcoming. The innkeepers Jim and Christina really take the time to make you feel at home while staying at the house. It was a great experience I will soon not forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We like to stay in B&B's whenever possible and this one is at the top of the list. Stayed in the Dogwood Cottage and was thrilled. Rocked on the patio out front with wine in the evening and coffee in the morning and the coffee is delicious. Great breakfast and extremely helpful in dinner suggestions and reservations and a short walk to downtown. Why stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Chris, Jim, Erica and Stephanie made us feel like pampered family. Large and varied staff for busiest hours. Attention to detail is extraordinary and everything is top of the line from the Black Mountain Sumatra, to the manicured gardens, to the incredible bed linens. Did I mention the non-stop, huge gourmet breakfasts?! The house has a great history and a great location. Drive to town in 3 minutes. We stayed in a small cottage. The room was beautifully and inventively appointed. The sunken Jacuzzi tub area can be separated by pulling high-end curtains to retain warmth. Never a speck of dust anywhere in the cottage or the huge Victorian main house. Concierge service was always available, well-prepared and ready to go online to find any needed details or destinations. The first morning I asked for honey and lemon for my tea, and everyday after it magically appeared on our table before we arrived. Everything at Beaufort house works like that. When my daughter and I left, she said she felt a little like she had left home !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hosts were delightful as was their staff member Ericka. The hostess and host, Cristina and Jim made people feel welcomed. Breakfast was very good. Coffee, available at 7 along with the Times and the WSJ, was a treat. Comfortable sleeping room. Bathroom worked well. Easy walk to downtown Ashville. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room in the house. We were on the third floor. Extra quiet if you do not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Dee G.
The Beaufort House Inn is a beautiful Victorian Inn located in a lovely quiet neighborhood within walking distance of town. It is surrounded by giant trees and lush gardens. The Inn keepers, Jim, Chris and Erica truly made us feel like honored guests and were so helpful with reservations in local restaurants, directions to waterfalls and other points of interest. We stayed in the Savannah cottage. It was lovely and the canopy bed was very comfortable. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was that the shower was a hand held type in the Jacuzzi. The candlelight breakfast in the very elegant dining room was by far the best I have ever had at a B&B. At breakfast and during the wine and cheese hour in the afternoon we enjoyed getting to know the other guests and Chris and Jim. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Asheville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Address: 61 North Liberty Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.